The University of Dhaka (DU) is Bangladesh’s oldest and best-known public university, founded in 1921.[1] It has 13 faculties and about 37,000 regular students.[1] It is ranked 600th in the QS World University Rankings 2027, the highest of the 13 Bangladeshi universities in that edition.[2]
International students pay fees in US dollars: the international admission page lists US$500 per year for applicants from SAARC countries and US$1,200 per year for applicants from other countries, plus other fees.[3] Applications do not go to the university directly but through the Bangladeshi diplomatic mission and the Ministry of Education.[3]
Key facts
| Official name | University of Dhaka (ঢাকা বিশ্ববিদ্যালয়), also called Dhaka University or DU[4] |
| Location | Dhaka, Bangladesh (Dhaka-1000; Shahbag area)[4] |
| Type | Public research university[4] |
| Founded | 1921; first Vice-Chancellor Sir P. J. Hartog[1] |
| Students | About 37,000 regular students and about 170,100 students at affiliated colleges (university website). Wikipedia gives 44,895 for 2023.[1] |
| Teaching staff | About 2,000 faculty members[1] |
| Structure | 13 faculties, 83 to 84 departments, 12 to 13 institutes, 20 residential halls (the website gives slightly different counts in different places)[1] |
| QS World University Rankings 2027 | 600th (Bangladesh: 1st of 13 listed universities)[2] |
| Foreign-student fee, SAARC countries | US$500 per year, plus other fees (international admission page, undated)[3] |
| Foreign-student fee, other countries | US$1,200 per year, plus other fees (international admission page, undated)[3] |
| Degree durations for international students | Bachelor’s 4 years · master’s 1 year · MPhil 2 years · PhD 3 years · DBA 4 years[3] |
| Application route | Through the Ministry of Education via a Bangladeshi mission abroad, or your country’s mission in Bangladesh[3] |
| Language of instruction | Not stated on the international admission page[3] |
| Official website | du.ac.bd |
Checked against the sources listed at the bottom of this page on 8 November 2026.
About the University of Dhaka
The University of Dhaka was founded in 1921 at Ramna in Dhaka; its first Vice-Chancellor was Sir P. J. Hartog.[1] It is a public research university, and the university describes itself as having 13 faculties, 83 to 84 departments, 12 to 13 institutes, 20 residential halls, 3 hostels and more than 56 research centres.[1]
The university website lists about 37,000 regular students, about 2,000 faculty members and about 170,100 students at affiliated colleges.[1] Wikipedia gives a different figure of 44,895 students for 2023, so student numbers depend on the source and the year.[4]
How is the University of Dhaka ranked?
In the QS World University Rankings 2027, published on 18 June 2026, the University of Dhaka is placed 600th. It is the highest-ranked of the 13 Bangladeshi universities in that edition; BUET follows at 711–720, North South University at 901–950 and BRAC University at 1001–1200.[2] TBS Graduates reports that the university secured a place among the world’s top 600 for the third consecutive year and gives an overall score of 28.3 out of the 1,504 universities ranked.[5]
Rankings differ by publisher and year, so treat one position as one view. How we compile rankings. See also the Bangladesh university list.
What can you study at the University of Dhaka?
The university is organised in 13 faculties with 83 to 84 departments and 12 to 13 institutes.[1] For international students the admission page names five levels: bachelor’s (4 years), master’s (1 year), MPhil (2 years), PhD (3 years) and DBA (4 years).[3] The page covers levels only; individual programmes are listed under “Find a Course / Program” on the university website.[3]
The Department of Computer Science and Engineering is one example with its own published foreign-student fee table: its bachelor’s programme requires 150 credits over 8 semesters.[6]
How much does the University of Dhaka cost for international students?
The University of Dhaka publishes two sets of foreign-student fees, both in US dollars. Neither page names a study year, and they use different structures, so ask the university which applies to your programme.
| Source | SAARC countries | Other countries |
|---|---|---|
| International admission page: per year, plus other fees | US$500 | US$1,200 |
| Computer Science and Engineering (bachelor’s): tuition per credit | US$50 | US$100 |
The international admission page gives the per-year amounts above and notes that other fees are charged in addition.[3] The CSE department page lists tuition of US$50 per credit for students from SAARC countries and US$100 per credit for students from other countries, a departmental development fee of US$100 per year for all foreign students and a separate university admission fee for which it gives no amount. Tuition, development and admission fees are paid at the start of each semester. The rates were set at the Coordination and Development Committee meeting of 25 July 2022; the page does not say whether they have changed since.[6]
Prothom Alo reported the same US$500 and US$1,200 per year in 2019, so the university-wide figures have been published for several years.[7] Fees for Bangladeshi students are not covered by these pages. For living costs in Dhaka, see our Bangladesh guide.
How do international students apply to the University of Dhaka?
International students do not apply to a department directly. The university describes this route:[3]
- Submit the application in triplicate on the prescribed form to the Ministry of Education, through a Bangladeshi diplomatic mission abroad or your country’s mission in Bangladesh.
- The Equivalence Committee of the relevant faculty checks eligibility.
- The academic committee of the department or institute reviews the application.
- The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Academic) approves, and the Ministry issues a no-objection certificate.
- You pay the fees and other charges to enrol.
All certificates and transcripts must be notarised by an authorised official of your country’s foreign ministry; otherwise the application is not considered.[3] The page gives a cut-off date for receipt of applications at the Registrar’s office; we do not repeat deadlines because they are set by the university each year, so check the current notice. Contact for international applicants: the Office of International Affairs, oia@du.ac.bd.[3]
The page does not give a seat quota for foreign students. Prothom Alo’s 2019 guidelines describe the same process and also report that the number of foreign students has fallen significantly over time.[7]
Which language level do you need?
The international admission page does not state a language of instruction or a language test requirement. It says only that the faculty’s Equivalence Committee checks eligibility for the chosen programme.[3] We therefore cannot give a required English or Bengali level. Ask the Office of International Affairs or the department in writing before you apply.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much are the fees for foreign students at the University of Dhaka?
The international admission page lists US$500 per year for applicants from SAARC countries and US$1,200 per year for other countries, plus other fees.[3] The Computer Science and Engineering department lists tuition of US$50 (SAARC) or US$100 (other countries) per credit, set in July 2022.[6] Neither page names a study year.
Can I apply directly to the University of Dhaka as a foreign student?
No. The university says applications go to the Ministry of Education through a Bangladeshi diplomatic mission abroad or your country’s mission in Bangladesh, and the Ministry issues a no-objection certificate after approval.[3]
How is the University of Dhaka ranked?
It is 600th in the QS World University Rankings 2027 and the top-ranked of the 13 Bangladeshi universities listed.[2]
How long are the degrees for international students?
The international admission page lists 4 years for a bachelor’s, 1 year for a master’s, 2 years for an MPhil, 3 years for a PhD and 4 years for a DBA.[3]
Do I need to have my certificates notarised?
Yes. All certificates and transcripts must be notarised by an authorised official of your country’s foreign ministry, or the application is not considered.[3]
More about studying in Bangladesh
- Bangladesh: best universities
- Cost of Studying Abroad
- International Student Scholarships
- University Ranking Methodology
More university profiles in Bangladesh
- Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology
- BRAC University
- North South University
- University of Rajshahi
Sources
[1] University of Dhaka: Home page and overview (page without a date)
[2] The Daily Star: QS World University Rankings 2027, where did Bangladeshi universities rank? (QS publishes the ranking at topuniversities.com, which blocks automated access) (article of 18 Jun 2026)
[3] University of Dhaka: International student admission (page without a date; footer 2026, linked circular dated 8 Sep 2020)
[4] Wikipedia: University of Dhaka (type, location, student figure; page without a clear update date)
[5] TBS Graduates: QS Rankings, DU secures place among world’s top 600 univs (article of 18–19 Jun 2026)
[6] University of Dhaka: Foreign student admission fees, Computer Science and Engineering (rates set 25 Jul 2022; page without a date)
[7] Prothom Alo: Dhaka University admission, guidelines for international students (article updated 8 Aug 2019, so may be outdated)
Figures may change; check official sources before you decide. How we compile our data · Found an error? Tell us.