University.im

University · Budapest, Hungary

Semmelweis University

By

Location
Budapest
Students
Almost 16,000
THE 2027
#247
Founded
1769
The short answer

Semmelweis University is a medical and health sciences university in Budapest with six faculties and almost 16,000 students.[1] It ranks 247th in the Times Higher Education World University Rankings 2027.[2] We could not confirm its position in the QS World University Rankings 2027, so we show no QS rank.

Tuition for the six-year General Medicine programme is listed at €9,340 per semester on the programme page and at $10,450 for 2026 starters in the registrar’s fee table (titled as a per-semester question); the two pages do not match, so confirm the amount with the admissions office.[3][4] No language certificate is required for General Medicine, but applicants sit written tests and an English interview.[3]

Key facts

Official nameSemmelweis Egyetem
LocationBudapest, Hungary (Üllői út 26, H-1085 Budapest); the university has no single campus[1]
TypePublic medical and health sciences university[5]
Founded1769 as the medical faculty of the University of Nagyszombat; independent medical school from 1951; named after Ignác Semmelweis in 1969; present name since 2000[6]
MaintainerSince 2021, the Foundation for National Health Care and Medical Education (NEOA), a public interest asset management foundation[6]
StudentsAlmost 16,000[1]
FacultiesSix: András Pető; Dentistry; Health and Public Services; Health Sciences; Medicine; Pharmaceutical Sciences[5]
Times Higher Education 2027247th (272nd in the previous edition)[2]
QS World University Rankings 2027Not confirmed; the university’s ranking page shows QS Life Sciences and Medicine subject rank 291 (labelled 2025)[7]
General Medicine6 years (12 semesters), 360 credits, MD[3]
Tuition, General Medicine€9,340 per semester on the programme page (intake year not stated); $10,450 for 2026 starters in the registrar’s table (titled as a per-semester question)[4]
Other fees, General Medicine€250 admission procedure fee, €2,000 non-refundable deposit (deducted from the first semester), €230 enrolment fee[3]
Official websitesemmelweis.hu

Checked against the sources listed at the bottom of this page on 7 November 2026.

About Semmelweis University

The university’s history page dates its beginning to 1769, when Queen Maria Theresa added a medical faculty to the University of Nagyszombat; teaching started in 1770. The faculty moved from Buda to Pest in 1784 and became an independent institution, the Budapest University of Medicine, in 1951. On its bicentennial in 1969 it took the name of Ignác Semmelweis, and in 2000 it merged with two other institutions and was renamed Semmelweis University.[6]

The university says it has almost 16,000 students and six faculties, and that it operates its own clinics and hospitals, describing itself as the largest provider of health care services in Hungary.[1] Since 2021 its maintainer has been the Foundation for National Health Care and Medical Education (NEOA).[6] Wikipedia lists the six faculties as András Pető, Dentistry, Health and Public Services, Health Sciences, Medicine and Pharmaceutical Sciences.[5]

How is Semmelweis University ranked?

In the Times Higher Education World University Rankings 2027, Semmelweis is 247th, up from 272nd.[2] The university’s ranking page shows, for earlier editions, THE 251–300 and ARWU (Shanghai) 601–700, both labelled 2025, and a QS subject rank of 291 in Life Sciences and Medicine, labelled 2025 in the rank line.[7]

QS World University Rankings 2027: the news coverage of the 18 June 2026 release that we read does not name Semmelweis, so we could not confirm a QS overall position or band. Compare with the other Hungarian universities on our Hungary page. Rankings differ by publisher and year, so treat one position as one view. How we compile rankings.

What can you study at Semmelweis University?

The admissions pages list these programmes for international applicants. They are offered in English, Hungarian and German, and the page does not say which are taught in English.[8]

  • General Medicine, Dentistry and Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Clinical Translational Medicine (MSc)
  • Nursing, Midwifery, Dietetics, Physiotherapy (also as MSc)
  • Medical Diagnostic Analysis BSc with Optometry specialisation
  • Conductive Education, Public Health Supervisor
  • Health Care Management with Health Tourism specialisation
  • Psychobiology (MSc) and Systemic Psychology (MSc)

General Medicine is a full-time six-year programme (12 semesters, 360 credits) leading to an MD; Dentistry lasts five years (10 semesters, 311 credits).[3][9]

How much does Semmelweis University cost?

The two official pages we read give different currencies and amounts, so we show both.

ProgrammeProgramme pageRegistrar’s fee table, 2026 starters
General Medicine€9,340 per semester[3]$10,450[4]
Dentistry€9,340 per semester[9]$10,450[4]
Pharmaceutical SciencesNot read$6,620[4]

The programme pages name no intake year; their application timetable refers to 2027.[3][9] The registrar’s table lists fees by starting year (2021 to 2026) in US dollars and, for 2026, gives $10,450 for Medicine and Dentistry and $6,620 for Pharmaceutical Sciences. It does not state the payment period on the lines we read, although the page is titled as a per-semester question.[4] Ask the admissions office which amount applies to your intake.

Other costs

For General Medicine the programme page lists a €250 admission procedure fee payable on application, a non-refundable €2,000 deposit that is deducted from the first semester’s tuition, and a €230 enrolment fee.[3] Dentistry students pay an additional material fee of €1,180 per semester in year 2 and €2,350 per semester in years 3–5.[9] Students who take only one course in a semester pay about half of the semester tuition, with prior written approval.[4]

Scholarships

The admissions page links to a general scholarships page. On the Stipendium Hungaricum site the university lists the Faculty of Health Sciences programmes in Nursing and Patient Care (nurse, physiotherapist) and MSc Physiotherapy.[10]

How do you apply to Semmelweis University?

Applications are made online through the university’s admission portal (SEMAPHOR), where you upload the required documents.[8][3] A medical certificate is needed only when you accept an offered place.[3]

For General Medicine the entrance procedure has two parts. First, an online written test on Moodle with 20 questions each in Medical Biology, Medical Chemistry, General English and Biomedical English. Second, a personal interview with an oral exam, held in person or via Zoom.[3] We read the procedure for General Medicine only; check the programme page for Dentistry, Pharmacy and the health sciences. We give no deadlines because they change every year.

Which language level do you need?

For General Medicine and Dentistry no language certificate is required. Applicants are expected to speak and understand English at an upper-intermediate level and to have basic biomedical English. For General Medicine, proficiency is assessed through the written tests and the English interview.[3][9] Upper-intermediate corresponds roughly to B2 on the CEFR scale, the European scale from A1 to C2; the university itself does not name a CEFR level on these pages.

Programmes taught in Hungarian or German have their own language requirements, which we did not read.[8]

Frequently Asked Questions

How is Semmelweis University ranked?

It is 247th in the Times Higher Education World University Rankings 2027, up from 272nd.[2] We could not confirm a QS World University Rankings 2027 position.[7]

How much does it cost to study medicine at Semmelweis University?

The General Medicine programme page lists €9,340 per semester, plus a €250 admission fee, a €2,000 deposit and a €230 enrolment fee.[3] The registrar’s fee table lists $10,450 for 2026 starters.[4] Confirm the amount for your intake with the university.

Do I need an English certificate for General Medicine?

No certificate is required. You need upper-intermediate English and basic biomedical English, which the university assesses in the written tests and the interview.[3]

How do I apply to Semmelweis University?

Apply online through the university’s admission portal and upload your documents. For General Medicine you then take an online written test and a personal interview.[8][3]

Who runs Semmelweis University?

Since 2021 the university’s maintainer has been the Foundation for National Health Care and Medical Education (NEOA).[6]

More about studying in Hungary

More university profiles in Hungary

Sources

[1] Semmelweis University: About Semmelweis University (page without a date; footer 2026)

[2] Daily News Hungary: Semmelweis in the world’s top 250, the ranking (article of 30 Sep 2026; Times Higher Education 2027)

[3] Semmelweis University: General Medicine (page without a date; footer 2026)

[4] Semmelweis University Registrar: How much is the tuition fee per semester? (page without a date; footer 2026; fees by starting year)

[5] Wikipedia: Semmelweis University (type and faculties)

[6] Semmelweis University: History (page without a date)

[7] Semmelweis University: International rankings (page without a date; footer 2026; entries labelled 2025)

[8] Semmelweis University: Admission (page without a date)

[9] Semmelweis University: Dentistry (page without a date; footer 2026)

[10] Stipendium Hungaricum: Semmelweis University (page without a date)

Figures may change; check official sources before you decide. How we compile our data · Found an error? Tell us.