The University of Minho (Universidade do Minho, UMinho) is a public university founded in Braga in 1973, with campuses in Braga and Guimarães.[1] Its facts page counts 20,566 students, among them 2,343 foreign students.[2] It is ranked joint 572nd in the QS World University Rankings 2027.[3]
For 2026/27 national students pay €697 a year in bachelor’s and integrated master’s programmes.[4] Other international students pay between €4,500 and €18,000 a year depending on the programme, with €6,500 in the science, engineering and architecture programmes we checked; students from Portuguese-speaking countries (CPLP) often pay less.[4] Many master’s programmes are taught in Portuguese.[5]
Key facts
| Official name | Universidade do Minho (UMinho) |
| Location | Braga and Guimarães, Portugal (main address: Largo do Paço, 4704-553 Braga)[6] |
| Type | Public university[1] |
| Founded | 1973 in Braga; first students in 1975/76 according to the history page (the international-students page says academic activity started in 1974)[1] |
| Campuses | Gualtar (Braga), Azurém and Couros (Guimarães)[1] |
| Schools and institutes | 12[2] |
| Students | 20,566 in total: 11,564 bachelor’s and integrated master’s, 7,302 master’s, 1,700 doctoral; 2,343 foreign students (year of data not stated)[2] |
| Staff | 1,737 teachers and researchers; 909 non-teaching staff[2] |
| Postgraduate programmes | About 100 master’s and 50 PhD degrees[7] |
| QS World University Rankings 2027 | Joint 572nd[3] |
| Tuition 2026/27, national students | €697 a year (bachelor’s and integrated master’s)[4] |
| Tuition 2026/27, other international students | €4,500 to €18,000 a year by programme (see fee table)[4] |
| Official website | uminho.pt |
Checked against the sources listed at the bottom of this page on 7 November 2026.
What is the University of Minho?
The University of Minho is a public higher-education institution in Braga and Guimarães in northern Portugal. It was founded in Braga in 1973 during a period of expansion of Portuguese higher education and set out to become a “complete university”.[1] It received its first students in 1975/76, according to its history page.[1] The international-students page says that academic activity started in 1974.[8]
There are three campuses: Gualtar in Braga, Azurém in Guimarães and, later, Couros, also in Guimarães, in an area classified as a UNESCO World Heritage site.[1] The university has 12 schools and institutes, among them the Schools of Engineering, Sciences, Economics and Management, Law, Medicine, Psychology and Architecture, Art and Design.[2]
The facts page gives 20,566 students, 2,343 of them foreign, but does not state the year of the data, and some of its other items refer to rankings from 2019.[2] Treat the figures as approximate.
How is the University of Minho ranked?
In the QS World University Rankings 2027, published on 18 June 2026, the University of Minho is joint 572nd.[3] A Portuguese study-abroad guide gives the same position, the lowest of the five Portuguese universities on our list.[9] The university’s own international page highlights its record in the Times Higher Education 150 Under 50 and in the CWTS Leiden Ranking instead.[8]
QS’s own site blocks automated access, so we read the position in an aggregator and a commercial guide. Rankings differ by publisher and year, so treat one position as one view. How we compile rankings.
What can you study at the University of Minho?
UMinho offers bachelor’s and integrated master’s degrees, about 100 master’s degrees and about 50 PhD degrees across its 12 schools and institutes. All postgraduate cycles can be attended part time.[7] Subject areas range from science and technology to architecture, arts, social sciences, law, economics and management, education, humanities, psychology and health.[1]
For students who finished secondary education abroad, the university offers a preparation course before enrolling in a bachelor’s or integrated master’s degree.[8]
How much does the University of Minho cost in 2026/27?
UMinho sets fees by programme and by student group: national students, students from Portuguese-speaking (CPLP) countries and students from other countries.[4]
| Programme | National students per year | CPLP students per year | Other countries per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bachelor’s, Computer Science | €697 | €1,100 | €6,500 |
| Integrated master’s, Architecture | €697 | €2,500 | €6,500 |
| Bachelor’s, Economics or Management | €697 | €4,500 | €4,500 |
| Integrated master’s, Medicine | €697 | €18,000 | €18,000 |
| Master’s, Artificial Intelligence | €1,250 | €2,000 | €6,500 |
| Master’s, Management | €1,750 | €3,500 | €4,500 |
The amounts come from the rector’s dispatch RT-91/2026 on fees for 2026/27, which refers to a General Council decision of 13 March 2026.[4] The table shows examples, not every programme. Fees are paid in 10 equal instalments from October 2026 or in one payment.[4]
Two-year master’s programmes
The Management master’s page of the School of Economics and Management lists a total cost for 2026/27 of €3,500, €7,000 for CPLP countries and €9,000 for other countries outside the EU, payable at 50% per academic year.[5] That is consistent with the annual amounts in the table. The Business and Management master’s lists the same totals.[10]
Doctoral fees differ by programme; they are in the same dispatch.[4] Tuition is only part of the bill; for rent and living costs, see our Portugal guide.
How do you apply to the University of Minho?
For bachelor’s and integrated master’s degrees there is a special competition for international students. You can apply if you do not have Portuguese citizenship, are not a citizen of an EU member state, have not lived legally and uninterruptedly in Portugal for more than two years as of 31 August of the application year, and are not on an international mobility programme from a foreign university. The page has an “Apply here” link to the application.[6]
For master’s and doctoral degrees you should consult the admission conditions of each programme; the postgraduate page links the postgraduate guide and the Academic Portal.[7] Some programmes interview applicants.[5][10]
We give no deadlines because they change every year and differ by programme.
Which language level do you need?
UMinho has no single language rule in the pages we read; it depends on the programme. The Management master’s is taught in Portuguese (some elective units can be in English), and applicants from countries where Portuguese is not the official or native language must hold a Portuguese proficiency certificate.[5] The Business and Management master’s runs one class in Portuguese and one in English; non-native English speakers need an English proficiency certificate such as TOEFL or IELTS, or proof that their degree was taught fully in English.[10]
The international-students page does not state a language level for bachelor’s degrees.[6] Ask the programme before you apply.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does the University of Minho cost for international students?
For 2026/27, other international students pay between €4,500 and €18,000 a year depending on the programme; €6,500 for the Computer Science, Architecture and Artificial Intelligence programmes we checked. CPLP students often pay less.[4]
Where is the University of Minho?
In northern Portugal, with campuses in Braga (Gualtar) and Guimarães (Azurém and Couros).[1]
Can I study in English at the University of Minho?
How do international students apply to the University of Minho?
How is the University of Minho ranked?
It is joint 572nd in the QS World University Rankings 2027.[3]
More about studying in Portugal
- Portugal: best universities
- Cost of Studying Abroad
- International Student Scholarships
- University Ranking Methodology
More university profiles in Portugal
Sources
[1] University of Minho: História (Portuguese) (Portuguese page without a date)
[2] University of Minho: Factos e Números (Portuguese) (Portuguese page without a date; year of the data not stated)
[3] Xuanxiao: QS World University Rankings 2027, ranks 551 to 600 (QS publishes the ranking at topuniversities.com, which blocks automated access) (edition released 18 Jun 2026; aggregator page)
[4] University of Minho: Despacho RT-91/2026, fixing tuition fees for 2026/2027 (Portuguese PDF) (dispatch for 2026/27; based on General Council decision of 13 Mar 2026)
[5] School of Economics and Management: Master in Management (page for 2026/27; no update date)
[6] University of Minho: Bachelor’s and Integrated Master’s Degrees, international students (page without a date; footer © 2026)
[7] University of Minho: Master’s and Doctoral Degrees, international students (page without a date)
[8] University of Minho: International Students (page without a date)
[9] Universidade do Intercâmbio: Melhores universidades de Portugal (study-abroad guide, page updated 2 Sep 2026; commercial source, used to cross-check)
[10] School of Economics and Management: Master in Business and Management (page for 2026/27; no update date)
Figures may change; check official sources before you decide. How we compile our data · Found an error? Tell us.