King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals (KFUPM) is a public university in Dhahran, Saudi Arabia, founded in 1963.[1] It is ranked 63rd in the QS World University Rankings 2027, the highest of the Saudi universities in that list.[2] Wikipedia gives 13,772 students for 2025, 9,674 undergraduate and 4,098 postgraduate.[1]
KFUPM teaches in English.[3] Non-Saudi students are expected to pay tuition of SR 20,000 a year, according to the university’s scholarships page, which does not state a year; international scholarships of 10% to 100% of tuition are awarded by a committee.[4] International undergraduates enter through the SAT track, which needs a score of at least 1350, or through the ISEF winners track.[5]
Key facts
| Official name | King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals (KFUPM) |
| Location | Dhahran 31261, Eastern Province, Saudi Arabia[3] |
| Type | Public university[1] |
| Founded | 1963 as the College of Petroleum and Minerals; renamed University of Petroleum and Minerals in 1975 and given its present name in 1986[1] |
| Students | 13,772 in 2025 (9,674 undergraduate, 4,098 postgraduate)[1] |
| Colleges | Seven, including Engineering and Physics, Computing and Mathematics, Petroleum Engineering and Geosciences, and a Business School[1] |
| Language of teaching | English; courses, research and publications are “solely done in English”[3] |
| QS World University Rankings 2027 | 63rd (highest Saudi university in the list)[2] |
| Tuition for non-Saudi students | SR 20,000 per year (year not stated; Saudi students receive a government scholarship)[4] |
| International scholarship | 10% to 100% of tuition, decided by a committee, subject to funds and seats[4] |
| Undergraduate entry for international students | SAT track (SAT of at least 1350 plus a KFUPM maths test) or ISEF winners track[5] |
| English test, M.Sc. / Ph.D. | IELTS 6.0 / 6.5 · TOEFL iBT 70 / 80 · Duolingo 105 / 120[5] |
| Official website | kfupm.edu.sa |
Checked against the sources listed at the bottom of this page on 6 November 2026.
About KFUPM
KFUPM opened in 1963 to meet the workforce needs of the oil and gas sector.[3] It started as the College of Petroleum and Minerals, became the University of Petroleum and Minerals in 1975 and took the name of King Fahd in 1986.[1] Its address is Dhahran 31261, Saudi Arabia, and the university states that it has more than 1,000 researchers.[3]
Wikipedia lists seven colleges: Engineering and Physics; Computing and Mathematics; Petroleum Engineering and Geosciences; Chemicals and Materials; Design and Built Environment; the Business School; and General Studies.[1]
How is KFUPM ranked?
In the QS World University Rankings 2027 (published in June 2026), KFUPM is 63rd in the world and tops the list of Saudi universities.[2][6][7] King Saud University follows at 107th and King Abdulaziz University at 200th.[2]
QS publishes the ranking at topuniversities.com, which blocks automated access, so we rely on these press reports. Rankings differ by publisher and year, so treat one position as one view. How we compile rankings.
What can international students study at KFUPM?
International applicants can apply for undergraduate study through two tracks and for graduate study at M.Sc. level (thesis-based or project-based) and Ph.D. level, including a Ph.D. direct-entry track.[5] Subjects are grouped in the seven colleges listed above.[1]
The graduate entry rules are: for the M.Sc., a four-year bachelor’s degree in business, engineering or science from an accredited institution with a GPA of at least 3.00/4.00; for the Ph.D., a master’s degree in engineering or science with a relevant major and a GPA of at least 3.00/4.00 in both the bachelor’s and master’s degrees.[5]
How much does KFUPM cost for international students?
KFUPM’s scholarships page says that Saudi students receive a government scholarship on admission and that “non-Saudis are expected to cover the tuition fees which is SR 20,000 per year”. The page shows no academic year and no date, so confirm the current amount with KFUPM admissions.[4]
International students, whether inside or outside the Kingdom, can apply for an international scholarship. The committee awards between 10% and 100% of tuition. Newly admitted students first get 50% covered; the other 50% requires an academic average of 3 out of 4 at the end of the first semester. The scholarship covers the full academic year including summer, lasts for the regular study period (four years plus a preparatory year) and depends on available funds and seats.[4]
Winners of the ISEF track are guaranteed admission and a full scholarship.[5] We could not read graduate tuition fees for non-Saudi students, so we give none.
How do you apply to KFUPM as an international student?
- Undergraduate, SAT track: graduation from an international high school in the natural sciences track, an SAT score of at least 1350 sent through College Board, and a pass in the KFUPM mathematics test.[5] The SAT admission page states that meeting the minimum does not ensure admission, that no Tahsili or Qudrat test is required, and that the track is for local and international students.[8] The two pages differ on how recent the graduation must be (the current or previous year on one, the current or previous two years on the other), so check the current rule.[5][8]
- Undergraduate, ISEF track: a high school graduate in the natural sciences track with an ISEF award; the page offers places to the top four winners each year.[5]
- Graduate: apply on the KFUPM admissions website. Decisions come by email and in the applicant portal and can take 2 to 3 months.[5]
KFUPM handles the visa process after admission.[5] We give no deadlines, because they change every year.
Which language level do you need for KFUPM?
Teaching is in English.[3] Graduate applicants must show the following scores:[5]
| Test | M.Sc. | Ph.D. |
|---|---|---|
| TOEFL iBT | 70 | 80 |
| IELTS | 6.0 | 6.5 |
| Duolingo | 105 | 120 |
The English test is waived for KFUPM graduates and graduates of English-speaking countries, including the USA, Canada, the UK, Australia and New Zealand.[5] The undergraduate SAT page does not mention an English requirement.[8]
Frequently Asked Questions
Is KFUPM free for international students?
No. KFUPM says non-Saudis are expected to pay tuition of SR 20,000 per year (no year stated), while Saudi students receive a government scholarship. International scholarships cover 10% to 100% of tuition.[4]
How is KFUPM ranked in 2027?
What SAT score do I need for KFUPM?
At least 1350, which is only the minimum to apply. Applicants must also pass the KFUPM mathematics test.[8]
Is KFUPM taught in English?
Yes. KFUPM says courses, research and publications are solely done in English.[3]
What English score do graduate applicants need?
M.Sc.: IELTS 6.0, TOEFL iBT 70 or Duolingo 105. Ph.D.: IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 80 or Duolingo 120.[5]
More about studying in Saudi Arabia
- Saudi Arabia: best universities
- Cost of Studying Abroad
- International Student Scholarships
- University Ranking Methodology
More university profiles in Saudi Arabia
- Alfaisal University
- King Abdulaziz University
- King Abdullah University of Science and Technology
- King Saud University
Sources
[1] Wikipedia: King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals (history, students 2025, colleges)
[2] Asharq Al-Awsat: 22 Saudi universities recognized in QS World University Rankings 2027 (QS publishes the ranking at topuniversities.com, which blocks automated access) (article of 23 Jun 2026)
[3] KFUPM: About (page without a date (footer 2026))
[4] KFUPM Student Excellence and Success: Scholarships (page without a date (footer 2026); no academic year given for the fee)
[5] KFUPM: Apply as an international student (page without a date (footer 2026))
[6] Leaders MENA: KFUPM leads 22 Saudi universities in latest QS rankings (article of 24 Jun 2026)
[7] Al Riyadh Daily: 22 Saudi universities included in QS World University Rankings 2027 (article of 22 Jun 2026)
[8] KFUPM Admissions: Undergraduate SAT admission (page without a date)
Figures may change; check official sources before you decide. How we compile our data · Found an error? Tell us.