University.im

University · Thessaloniki, Greece

Aristotle University of Thessaloniki

By

Location
Thessaloniki
Students
≈88,300
QS 2027
#502
Founded
1925 (opened 1926)
The short answer

Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (AUTH) is a public university in northern Greece with about 88,300 students, of whom 77,198 are undergraduates.[1] It is ranked 502nd in the QS World University Rankings 2027, third among Greek universities in that list.[2]

Greek-taught undergraduate programmes at public universities are free.[3][4] Master’s fees are set per programme; one English-taught engineering master’s lists €4,000 for full-time EU students and €8,000 for full-time non-EU students, without saying for which period.[5] Most undergraduate teaching is in Greek.[3]

Key facts

Official nameΑριστοτέλειο Πανεπιστήμιο Θεσσαλονίκης (ΑΠΘ); founded as the University of Thessaloniki[6]
LocationThessaloniki, Greece; main campus in the city centre, about 33.4 hectares[1]
TypePublic university[7]
FoundedLaw 3341/1925, published 22 June 1925; teaching began in 1926[6]
StudentsAbout 88,283: 77,198 undergraduate, 6,588 postgraduate, 3,952 doctoral[1]
Academic staff1,682 faculty members (the university’s figure)[1]
Structure10 faculties comprising 40 schools, plus one single-school faculty (as the page words it)[1]
Undergraduate programmes41, each leading to a first-cycle degree; minimum 8–10 semesters, 12 for Medicine[8]
Master’s programmesMinimum 1 and maximum 2 academic years[9]
QS World University Rankings 2027502nd; 307th in academic reputation[10]
Tuition, Greek-taught bachelor’sFree at public universities[3]
Tuition, example English-taught master’sChemical and Biochemical Engineering: Health & Food, full-time EU €4,000, non-EU €8,000 (period not stated)[5]
Official websiteauth.gr

Checked against the sources listed at the bottom of this page on 7 November 2026.

About Aristotle University of Thessaloniki

The university was created by Law 3341/1925, passed on 5 June 1925 and published in the Government Gazette on 22 June 1925. Teaching began in 1926 with the Faculty of Philosophy in the “Allatini” building. The Faculty of Physics and Mathematics followed in 1927 and the School of Law and Economics in 1929; the Medical and Theological Schools opened in 1942. It was founded under the name University of Thessaloniki.[6]

The main campus lies in central Thessaloniki and covers about 33.4 hectares; some facilities are located elsewhere.[1] The university describes itself as having 10 faculties with 40 schools plus one single-school faculty.[1] Wikipedia gives different counts in different parts of its article (12 faculties and 36 schools in one place, 11 and 41 in another), so we rely on the university’s own wording.[7]

How is Aristotle University of Thessaloniki ranked?

In the QS World University Rankings 2027, published on 18 June 2026, AUTH is 502nd, just outside the top 500.[10] A Greek education news report of 20 June 2026 places it third among Greek universities, behind NTUA (378th) and the University of Athens (402nd) and ahead of the University of Crete (649th) and the University of Patras (771–780).[2] The second report adds that AUTH is 307th in the academic reputation indicator.[10]

Wikipedia also lists the 501–600 band in the ARWU (Shanghai) ranking for 2023; it is a secondary source with an article that contradicts itself in places.[7] Rankings differ by publisher and year, so one position is only one view. How we compile rankings.

What can you study at Aristotle University of Thessaloniki?

AUTH offers 41 undergraduate programmes. Study lasts a minimum of eight to ten semesters, and twelve semesters for the Medical School.[8] Master’s programmes last one to two academic years; they include inter-departmental, inter-institutional and joint programmes with universities in Greece and abroad. A doctorate must normally be completed within three to six academic years after the three-member advisory committee is appointed.[9]

Most undergraduate teaching is in Greek.[3] English-taught options exist at master’s level. The Ministry’s programme database, for example, lists the MSc in Chemical and Biochemical Engineering: Health & Food (School of Chemical Engineering) in English, 4 semesters and 120 ECTS credits.[5] The university’s own postgraduate page does not state the teaching language of its programmes, so check the programme entry.[9]

How much does Aristotle University of Thessaloniki cost?

ProgrammeTuition
Bachelor’s, taught in GreekFree at public universities
Chemical and Biochemical Engineering: Health & Food (MSc, English)Full-time EU €4,000; full-time non-EU €8,000 (period not stated)
Other master’s programmesSet by each programme; Study in Greece gives an average of €3,000–7,000 per year
DoctorateNot stated on the pages we read

Greece has no single tuition rate. The Eurypedia description of the system (page updated 28 October 2024) says that first-cycle studies at public universities are free of charge and that fees may be charged for particular postgraduate programmes.[4] Study in Greece states that Greek-taught undergraduate programmes are free and that English-taught bachelor’s programmes charge roughly €5,000–15,000 per year.[3] For master’s programmes it gives an average of €3,000–7,000 per year, set by each programme’s own regulation.[11] Its page on doctoral studies does not mention tuition.[12]

The European Commission’s country profile (page updated 24 April 2026) lists €5,000–15,000 per year for non-EU/EEA bachelor’s students and €3,000–7,000 for non-EU/EEA master’s students.[13] We found no official page that states how these rules apply to a non-EU student in a Greek-taught bachelor’s programme at AUTH, so confirm this with the department secretariat.

Example: an English-taught master’s

The Ministry’s programme database shows full-time fees of €4,000 for EU students (with an asterisk it does not explain) and €8,000 for non-EU students for the MSc in Chemical and Biochemical Engineering: Health & Food. The entry does not say whether the amounts are per year, per semester or for the whole programme, and it showed no open application call when we read it.[5] For rent and living costs in Thessaloniki, see our Greece guide.

How do you apply to Aristotle University of Thessaloniki?

  • Bachelor’s, foreign applicants: Study in Greece describes the route for applicants who, like their parents, do not hold Greek nationality. You prepare your documents with an apostille or legalisation, have them translated into Greek and certified, and apply electronically through the Ministry of Education’s system for foreign applicants (exams-foreigner.it.minedu.gov.gr) during a short window each year. After acceptance you contact the department secretariat for visa documents.[3] AUTH’s own undergraduate page says only that admission is set by the Ministry of Education.[8]
  • Master’s: applicants need a degree from a Greek institution or a recognised foreign equivalent. Each faculty or school sets its own admission process in its internal regulation, so contact it directly; the Department of Studies in the Karatheodoridi Building also gives information.[9] Programmes are listed in the Ministry’s master’s finder and on the Study in Greece portal.[11]
  • Doctorate: applicants normally need a master’s degree or equivalent; in exceptional cases a faculty or school may admit a candidate without one, who must then complete a required course cycle.[9] The departments set their own requirements.[12]

We give no deadlines here because they change every year and differ by programme. Check the programme or portal for the current timetable.

Do you need to speak Greek?

For most undergraduate programmes, yes. Study in Greece notes that courses are generally taught in Greek, so Greek language study may be relevant for foreign applicants.[3] AUTH’s undergraduate page does not state a language of instruction or a required Greek level, so ask your department.[8]

For international master’s programmes, Study in Greece says that knowledge of one or more foreign languages is an essential prerequisite; the accepted proof is set by each programme.[11] The English-taught engineering master’s above is listed with English as its language of instruction.[5]

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Aristotle University of Thessaloniki free for international students?

Greek-taught undergraduate programmes at public universities are free.[3][4] Master’s fees are set per programme; one English-taught master’s lists €4,000 for EU and €8,000 for non-EU students (period not stated).[5] Study in Greece gives an average of €3,000–7,000 per year for master’s programmes.[11]

How is Aristotle University of Thessaloniki ranked?

It is 502nd in the QS World University Rankings 2027, third among Greek universities in that list.[2][10]

How many students does AUTH have?

About 88,283: 77,198 undergraduate, 6,588 postgraduate and 3,952 doctoral students, according to the university’s own page.[1]

When was Aristotle University of Thessaloniki founded?

The founding law (3341/1925) was published on 22 June 1925, and teaching began in 1926.[6]

Do I need Greek to study at AUTH?

Undergraduate courses are generally taught in Greek.[3] Some master’s programmes are taught in English, for example the MSc in Chemical and Biochemical Engineering: Health & Food.[5]

More about studying in Greece

More university profiles in Greece

Sources

[1] AUTH: The University (facts and figures) (page without a date)

[2] Alfavita: Greek universities in the QS World University Rankings 2027 (Greek; QS publishes the ranking at topuniversities.com, which blocks automated access) (article of 20 Jun 2026; QS edition released 18 Jun 2026)

[3] Study in Greece: Bachelors, admission of foreign students (page without a date; refers to the 2026–2027 application cycle)

[4] Eurydice (European Commission): Greece, higher education funding (page updated 28 Oct 2024)

[5] Ministry of Education: Chemical and Biochemical Engineering: Health & Food (MSc, AUTH) (programme entry without a date; no open call at the time of reading)

[6] AUTH: History (page without a date)

[7] Wikipedia: Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (secondary source; the article is inconsistent in places)

[8] AUTH: Undergraduate Studies (page without a date)

[9] AUTH: Postgraduate Studies (page without a date)

[10] dnews.gr: Greek universities slip in global rankings (article of 22 Jun 2026)

[11] Study in Greece: Masters (page without a date; refers to the 2026–2027 programme catalogue)

[12] Study in Greece: PhDs (page without a date)

[13] European Commission: Greece country profile (tuition fees) (page updated 24 Apr 2026)

Figures may change; check official sources before you decide. How we compile our data · Found an error? Tell us.