The National Technical University of Athens (NTUA, Εθνικό Μετσόβιο Πολυτεχνείο) is a public technical university and, by its own description, the oldest technical university in Greece, dating from 1837.[1] It has nine schools.[2] In the QS World University Rankings 2027 it is 378th, the highest-ranked Greek university.[3]
Greek-taught undergraduate programmes at public universities are free.[4][5] Master’s fees are set per programme; the English-taught MSc in Computational Mechanics lists €1,500 for full-time non-EU students and no fee for EU students.[6] Most undergraduate teaching is in Greek.[4]
Key facts
| Official name | Εθνικό Μετσόβιο Πολυτεχνείο (ΕΜΠ), also written Ethnicon Metsovion Polytechnion[1] |
| Location | Athens: Zografou Campus (9 Iroon Polytechniou, 15772 Zografou) and Patission Complex (42 Patission Street, 10682 Athens)[7] |
| Type | Public technical university[8] |
| Founded | 1837, by royal decree, as a technical school[1] |
| Students | 23,914 (university page; statistics cite 2015 and 2016 data)[2] |
| Staff | 512 faculty members and 4,090 external collaborators (same page)[2] |
| Schools | Nine: eight engineering schools and the School of Applied Mathematical and Physical Sciences[1] |
| QS World University Rankings 2027 | 378th, first among Greek universities[3] |
| Main language of teaching | Greek (undergraduate); some master’s programmes in English[4] |
| Tuition, Greek-taught bachelor’s | Free at public universities[4] |
| Tuition, example English-taught master’s | Computational Mechanics: €1,500 for full-time non-EU students (period not stated)[6] |
| Duration of engineering degrees | Five years at Greek public universities[4] |
| Official website | ntua.gr |
Checked against the sources listed at the bottom of this page on 7 November 2026.
About the National Technical University of Athens
NTUA was established in 1837 by royal decree as a technical school for architectural education that at first taught on Sundays and holidays. By 1840 a regular day school had been added in its own building on Piraeus Street, and in 1871 it moved to new buildings in the Patission Street complex.[1] Wikipedia dates the move to 1873 and gives the early name as Royal School of Arts, so sources differ on details.[8]
The university calls itself a university of science and technology with eight engineering schools and a ninth school of applied mathematical and physical sciences. The engineering schools are Civil, Mechanical, Electrical and Computer, Architecture, Chemical, Rural, Surveying and Geoinformatics, Mining and Metallurgical, and Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering.[1][7] Teaching is spread over the Zografou Campus and the Patission Complex.[7]
How is NTUA ranked?
In the QS World University Rankings 2027, published on 18 June 2026, NTUA is 378th and the highest-ranked Greek institution, ahead of the University of Athens (402nd), Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (502nd), the University of Crete (649th) and the University of Patras (771–780).[3] A second Greek news report of 22 June 2026 says NTUA stayed within the top 400 but fell 23 places from the previous year.[9]
Wikipedia shows two different QS 2027 positions for NTUA (=378 in its ranking table and 387 in its text); we use 378, which the Greek press report states.[8][3] Rankings differ by publisher and year, so one position is only one view. How we compile rankings.
What can you study at NTUA?
NTUA’s nine schools cover civil, mechanical, electrical and computer, chemical, rural and surveying, mining and metallurgical and naval architecture and marine engineering, as well as architecture and applied mathematical and physical sciences.[7] Engineering degrees at Greek public universities take five years.[4] Undergraduate teaching is generally in Greek.[4]
Some master’s programmes are taught in English. The Ministry’s programme database lists the MSc in Computational Mechanics (School of Chemical Engineering) in English, 3 semesters and 90 ECTS credits.[6] Study in Greece notes that international master’s programmes are open to Greek and foreign students and typically run about three semesters including the thesis.[10]
How much does NTUA cost?
| Programme | Tuition |
|---|---|
| Bachelor’s / diploma, taught in Greek | Free at public universities |
| Computational Mechanics (MSc, English) | €1,500 for full-time non-EU students; no EU fee listed (period not stated) |
| Other master’s programmes | Set by each programme; Study in Greece gives an average of €3,000–7,000 per year |
| Doctorate | Not stated on the pages we read |
Greece has no single tuition rate. The Eurypedia description of the system (page updated 28 October 2024) says that first-cycle studies at public universities are free of charge and that fees may be charged for particular postgraduate programmes.[5] Study in Greece states that Greek-taught undergraduate programmes are free and that English-taught bachelor’s programmes charge roughly €5,000–15,000 per year.[4] For master’s programmes it gives an average of €3,000–7,000 per year, set by each programme’s own regulation.[10] Its page on doctoral studies does not mention tuition.[11]
The European Commission’s country profile (page updated 24 April 2026) lists €5,000–15,000 per year for non-EU/EEA bachelor’s students and €3,000–7,000 for non-EU/EEA master’s students.[12] We found no official page that states how these rules apply to a non-EU student in a Greek-taught diploma programme at NTUA, so confirm this with the school secretariat.
Example: an English-taught master’s
For the MSc in Computational Mechanics the Ministry’s database shows €1,500 for full-time non-EU students, marked with an asterisk it does not explain, and lists no EU fee. It does not say whether the amount is per year, per semester or for the whole programme, and it showed no open application call when we read it.[6] For rent and living costs in Athens, see our Greece guide.
How do you apply to NTUA?
- Bachelor’s / diploma, foreign applicants: Study in Greece describes the route for applicants who, like their parents, do not hold Greek nationality. You prepare your documents with an apostille or legalisation, have them translated into Greek and certified, and apply electronically through the Ministry of Education’s system for foreign applicants (exams-foreigner.it.minedu.gov.gr) during a short window each year. After acceptance you contact the school secretariat for visa documents.[4]
- Master’s: admission requirements, selection and fees are set by each programme. The Ministry’s master’s finder and the Study in Greece portal list the programmes and their application calls.[10][6]
- Doctorate: the departments set their own admission requirements, and a postgraduate diploma is normally required.[11]
NTUA’s English pages have no dedicated page for international degree students; they link Erasmus+ and a “Knowledge without Frontiers” page, which we did not summarise.[7] We give no deadlines here because they change every year and differ by programme.
Do you need to speak Greek?
For undergraduate engineering and architecture programmes, plan on Greek. Study in Greece notes that courses are generally taught in Greek, so Greek language study may be relevant for foreign applicants.[4] NTUA’s English pages do not state a required Greek level, so ask the school you are interested in.[2]
For international master’s programmes, Study in Greece says that knowledge of one or more foreign languages is an essential prerequisite; the accepted proof is set by each programme.[10] The MSc in Computational Mechanics is listed with English as its language of instruction.[6]
Frequently Asked Questions
Is NTUA free for international students?
How is NTUA ranked?
Which language is NTUA taught in?
How many schools does NTUA have?
Nine: eight engineering schools and the School of Applied Mathematical and Physical Sciences.[1]
Is NTUA the same as the University of Athens?
No. NTUA is the technical university; the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens is a separate institution. Both are listed separately in the QS ranking.[3]
More about studying in Greece
- Greece: best universities
- Cost of Studying Abroad
- International Student Scholarships
- University Ranking Methodology
More university profiles in Greece
- Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
- National and Kapodistrian University of Athens
- University of Crete
- University of Patras
Sources
[1] NTUA: History of NTUA (page without a date; footer © 2025)
[2] NTUA: Structure, Mission, Excellence (page without a date; statistics cite 2015 and 2016 data)
[3] Alfavita: Greek universities in the QS World University Rankings 2027 (Greek; QS publishes the ranking at topuniversities.com, which blocks automated access) (article of 20 Jun 2026; QS edition released 18 Jun 2026)
[4] Study in Greece: Bachelors, admission of foreign students (page without a date; refers to the 2026–2027 application cycle)
[5] Eurydice (European Commission): Greece, higher education funding (page updated 28 Oct 2024)
[6] Ministry of Education: Computational Mechanics (MSc, NTUA) (programme entry without a date; no open call at the time of reading)
[7] NTUA: English home page (page without a date; footer © 2025)
[8] Wikipedia: National Technical University of Athens (secondary source; the article is inconsistent in places)
[9] dnews.gr: Greek universities slip in global rankings (article of 22 Jun 2026)
[10] Study in Greece: Masters (page without a date; refers to the 2026–2027 programme catalogue)
[11] Study in Greece: PhDs (page without a date)
[12] European Commission: Greece country profile (tuition fees) (page updated 24 Apr 2026)
Figures may change; check official sources before you decide. How we compile our data · Found an error? Tell us.