Seoul National University (SNU) is a national research university in Seoul. Its facts page counts 30,638 enrolled students: 17,439 undergraduates, 6,845 master’s and 6,354 doctoral students.[1] It is ranked 38th in the QS World University Rankings 2027, the same place as in the previous edition.[2]
In the 2026 tuition table of the international undergraduate admissions guide, amounts run from KRW 2,442,000 (humanities, business) to KRW 5,038,000 (the four-year medicine programme); engineering is KRW 2,998,000. The table does not say whether the amounts cover a semester or a year.[3] International applicants need TOPIK level 3, or TOEFL iBT 80, IELTS Academic 6.0 or TEPS 269, unless they completed their schooling in Korean or English.[3]
Key facts
| Official name | Seoul National University (서울대학교), SNU |
| Location | Gwanak main campus: 1 Gwanak-ro, Gwanak-gu, Seoul 08826; further campuses in Yeongeon (Jongno-gu, Seoul), Pyeongchang and Siheung[1] |
| Type | National (public) research university[4] |
| Founded | 1946, by merging ten higher-education institutions in the Seoul area[4] |
| Enrolled students | 30,638: 17,439 undergraduate, 6,845 master’s, 6,354 doctoral (no reference year stated)[1] |
| Exchange students | 443 international exchange students and 824 language-training students[1] |
| Full-time faculty | 2,367 (1,651 professors, 488 associate, 228 assistant); 6,710 including other faculty[1] |
| Colleges and graduate schools | 15 colleges and 12 graduate schools on the facts page (the homepage counts 16 colleges and 11 professional graduate schools)[1] |
| QS World University Rankings 2027 | 38th[2] |
| Tuition, 2026 table, undergraduate | KRW 2,442,000 (humanities) to KRW 5,038,000 (medicine, 4 years); period not stated in the table[3] |
| Tuition, 2026 table, graduate, first semester | KRW 3,278,000 (humanities, social sciences) to KRW 6,131,000 (clinical medicine)[5] |
| Application fee | KRW 70,000 (undergraduate), KRW 90,000 (graduate)[5] |
| Minimum language level | TOPIK 3, or TOEFL iBT 80, IELTS Academic 6.0 or TEPS 269 (some programmes require more)[3] |
| Official website | en.snu.ac.kr |
Checked against the sources listed at the bottom of this page on 5 November 2026.
About Seoul National University
Seoul National University was founded in 1946 by merging ten higher-education institutions in the Seoul area.[4] Wikipedia gives two founding dates (22 and 27 August 1946) in different places, so we show the year only.[4] The main campus is in Gwanak-gu; other campuses are in Yeongeon (Jongno-gu), Pyeongchang and Siheung.[1]
The facts page lists 15 colleges, among them Humanities, Social Sciences, Natural Sciences, Engineering, Business Administration, Medicine, Fine Arts and Music, and 12 graduate schools, such as Law, Public Health, Dentistry and Data Science.[1] The university’s homepage gives other totals (16 colleges, 11 professional graduate schools, 36,231 enrolled students, 1,630 professors), and the figures on the two pages do not match.[6] We use the facts page and flag the difference.
The facts page lists general exchange agreements with 321 universities in 59 countries and student exchange agreements with 268 universities in 46 countries.[1]
How is Seoul National University ranked?
In the QS World University Rankings 2027, published on 18 June 2026, Seoul National University is 38th in the world, unchanged from the 2026 edition. Korea JoongAng Daily lists it ahead of Yonsei University (42nd), Korea University (52nd) and KAIST (65th).[2] The Korea Herald reports the same positions.[7]
SNU’s own facts page also lists the QS Asia University Rankings 2025 (18th), the Times Higher Education World University Rankings 2026 (58th) and the THE Asia University Rankings 2026 (15th).[1] Rankings differ by publisher and year, so treat one position as one view. How we compile rankings.
What can you study at Seoul National University?
Undergraduate degrees are organised in colleges. The international undergraduate guide lists, among others, Humanities, Social Sciences, Natural Sciences, Nursing, Business Administration, Engineering, Agriculture and Life Sciences, Fine Arts, Education, Human Ecology, Veterinary Medicine, Pharmacy, Music, Medicine and the School of Transdisciplinary Innovations, besides the SNU College for Liberal Studies.[3] Applicants to the College of Fine Arts, the College of Music and the Department of Physical Education go through additional steps (portfolio, performance test or interview).[3]
Graduate programmes sit in the colleges and in graduate schools such as Public Health, Public Administration, Environmental Studies, International Studies, Convergence Science and Technology, International Agricultural Technology and Data Science.[5] Medicine is a special case: the undergraduate guide warns that the tuition system of the College of Medicine may change because an integrated six-year programme starts in 2027.[3]
How much does Seoul National University cost in 2026?
Undergraduate, 2026 academic year
| College | Tuition (KRW) |
|---|---|
| Humanities; Business Administration; most Social Sciences | 2,442,000 |
| Natural Sciences (most departments) | 2,975,000 |
| Engineering | 2,998,000 |
| Fine Arts | 3,653,000 |
| Music | 3,916,000 |
| Pharmacy | 4,481,000 |
| Medicine (4 years) | 5,038,000 |
This is the tuition table from the 2027 spring admissions guide for international undergraduates. The table shows one amount per department and does not state whether it covers a semester or a year, and it is labelled “subject to change”.[3] SNU’s registration page says tuition is normally paid twice a year, before each semester, and varies with the major and the number of credits.[8] Ask the Office of Admissions which period the undergraduate amounts cover before you budget.
Graduate, first semester, 2026 academic year
| College or school | First semester (KRW) |
|---|---|
| Humanities; Social Sciences; Business Administration | 3,278,000 |
| Natural Sciences (excluding Mathematical Sciences) | 3,971,000 |
| Engineering | 3,997,000 |
| Fine Arts | 4,855,000 |
| Medicine, basic / clinical | 4,931,000 / 6,131,000 |
The graduate table is explicitly labelled “Tuition for the First Semester”.[5]
Scholarships
For graduate students, the Graduate Scholarship for Foreign Students (GSFS) covers full tuition for up to four semesters plus a monthly stipend of at least KRW 500,000 (the amount and duration of the stipend may vary by college). It is open to International Admission I applicants with no prior enrolment at a Korean institution.[5] The SNU President Fellowship for PhD applicants who work as university teaching staff in a developing country covers full tuition for up to six semesters.[5] Undergraduate scholarships are handled by the Office of Global Affairs (intlscholarship@snu.ac.kr).[3]
How do you apply to Seoul National University?
International applicants apply online through the Office of Admissions website. SNU accepts international undergraduate applications for the spring and the fall semester; the academic year begins in spring.[9] The undergraduate guide for spring 2027 separates two routes: International Admissions I for applicants who and whose parents are not Korean citizens, and International Admissions II for applicants, including overseas Koreans, who completed the entire school curriculum abroad.[3] GED, homeschooling and online-school qualifications are not accepted as high-school education.[3]
- Undergraduate: application fee KRW 70,000; documents include a personal statement and study plan, recommendation letters submitted online, and proof of language proficiency. Applicants to Fine Arts and Music also submit a portfolio.[3]
- Graduate: application fee KRW 90,000; the guide also covers an online recommendation system.[5]
Start at the SNU admissions page and read the current guide for your intake. We give no deadlines here because they change every intake and differ by programme.[10]
Which language level do you need?
The undergraduate and graduate guides for international applicants set the same minimum. Applicants submit one of the following: Korean TOPIK (or TOPIK iBT) level 3, or completion of level 4 at a language centre of a Korean university; English TOEFL iBT 80 (4.0 on the new scale for tests taken on or after 21 January 2026), IELTS Academic 6.0 or TEPS 269. TOEFL ITP scores are not accepted.[3][5]
Alternatively, applicants can document that the entire high-school (graduate: bachelor’s or master’s) curriculum was taught in Korean or English.[3] Scores must be from tests taken on or after 9 July 2024 and confirmed before the application deadline.[3] Some graduate programmes ask for more: applicants to the College of Business Administration programme and to the Interdisciplinary Program in Art Management must submit TOPIK level 6, and applicants to the Visual Communication Design, Industrial Design and Design majors (College of Fine Arts) TOPIK level 5.[5]
Which language a course is taught in depends on the programme, and we did not find a university-wide statement on the language of instruction. Check the department.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much is tuition at Seoul National University?
What TOPIK or TOEFL score do I need for SNU?
How is Seoul National University ranked?
It is 38th in the QS World University Rankings 2027, ahead of Yonsei (42nd), Korea University (52nd) and KAIST (65th).[2]
Is there a scholarship for international graduate students?
Yes. The Graduate Scholarship for Foreign Students covers full tuition for up to four semesters plus a stipend for eligible International Admission I applicants. You apply for it inside the online application.[5]
Can I apply to SNU without Korean?
Yes in principle: the English route (TOEFL iBT 80, IELTS 6.0 or TEPS 269) satisfies the language proof.[3] Whether a given programme offers English-taught courses depends on the department, so check with it.
More about studying in South Korea
- South Korea: best universities
- Cost of Studying Abroad
- International Student Scholarships
- University Ranking Methodology
More university profiles in South Korea
- Ajou University
- Chonnam National University
- Chung-Ang University
- Dongguk University
- Ewha Womans University
- Hankuk University of Foreign Studies (HUFS)
- Hanyang University
- Inha University
- KAIST
- Konkuk University
- Korea University
- Kyung Hee University
- Kyungpook National University
- Pohang University of Science and Technology (POSTECH)
- Pusan National University
- Sogang University
- Sungkyunkwan University (SKKU)
- UNIST (Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology)
- Yonsei University
Sources
[1] Seoul National University: Facts and figures (page without a date; budget figures as of April 2026)
[2] Korea JoongAng Daily: SNU leads Korean campuses in latest QS world rankings as Yonsei, KU hit historic highs (QS publishes the ranking at topuniversities.com, which blocks automated access) (article of 18 Jun 2026; QS 2027 edition)
[3] Seoul National University: 2027 Spring Undergraduate Admissions Guide for International Students (PDF) (file uploaded June 2026; tuition table for the 2026 academic year)
[4] Wikipedia: Seoul National University (history and type)
[5] Seoul National University: 2027 Spring Graduate Admissions Guide for International Students (PDF) (file uploaded June 2026; tuition table for the 2026 academic year)
[6] Seoul National University: homepage, “SNU by the Numbers” (page without a date)
[7] The Korea Herald: Korean universities in the QS World University Rankings 2027 (article of 18 Jun 2026)
[8] Seoul National University: Registration (page marked “Last updated in 2024”)
[9] Seoul National University: Undergraduate application (international) (page marked “Last updated in 2025”)
[10] Seoul National University: Office of Admissions (international) (page without a date)
Figures may change; check official sources before you decide. How we compile our data · Found an error? Tell us.