University.im

University · Cayon, Saint Kitts and Nevis

Windsor University School of Medicine

By

Location
Cayon, St. Kitts
Type
Private
Founded
1998 (school); St. Kitts 2000
QS 2027
Not confirmed
The short answer

Windsor University School of Medicine (WUSOM) is a private medical school whose campus is at Brighton’s Estate in Cayon, St. Kitts. It is not in the capital Basseterre.[1] It offers an MD and a Biomedical Sciences programme.[1] The school gives 1998 as its founding year; Wikipedia adds that it moved to St. Kitts and Nevis in January 2000 from its first licensing location in the Turks and Caicos Islands.[2][3]

The Caribbean accreditor CAAM-HP lists the programme’s status as “Probation for 2 years, 2025 - 2027”, while the school’s own pages describe it as accredited by CAAM-HP.[4][1] The school’s fee page (structure effective 1 May 2024) lists tuition of $6,240 for levels MD1 to MD4, or $7,190 with fees; the page does not name a currency or a billing period.[5] The university is not confirmed in the QS World University Rankings 2027.

Key facts

Official nameWindsor University School of Medicine (WUSOM)[1]
Location1621 Brighton’s Estate, Cayon, St. Kitts (US information office: Oak Brook, Illinois)[1]
TypePrivate medical school[3]
Founded1998 according to the school; Wikipedia: licensed in the Turks and Caicos Islands in January 1998, moved to St. Kitts and Nevis in January 2000, chartered there in March 2000[2]
ProgrammesMD (Doctor of Medicine) and Biomedical Sciences (formerly the premedical programme)[1]
MD structure11 semesters: semesters 1–5 basic sciences in St. Kitts, semesters 6–11 clinical clerkships (72 weeks) at sites in the USA and Jamaica[3]
CAAM-HP status (July 2026 update)“Probation for 2 years, 2025 - 2027”; board pleased with progress in the 2025–2026 progress report, presented 28–29 July 2026[6]
Earlier CAAM-HP decisionJanuary 2023: Accreditation with Conditions for two years, 2023–2025[6]
St. Kitts and Nevis accreditationSchool states it is accredited by the Accreditation Board of St. Kitts & Nevis (no date given)[7]
QS World University Rankings 2027Not confirmed (no entry found in the sources read)
MD fees, effective 1 May 2024$6,240 (MD1–MD4), $7,740 (MD5), $10,990 (MD6–MD11) tuition; with fees $7,190, $8,840 and $11,490. Currency shown only as “$”[5]
Admission (MD)Undergraduate degree or equivalent; at least 90 undergraduate credit hours recommended; no MCAT requirement (MCAT or similar only for US and Canadian students)[8]
Official websitewindsor.edu

Checked against the sources listed at the bottom of this page on 7 November 2026.

About Windsor University School of Medicine

Windsor University School of Medicine (WUSOM) is a private medical school on the island of St. Kitts. Its campus is at 1621 Brighton’s Estate in Cayon; the school also keeps a US information office in Oak Brook, Illinois.[1] The school says it was founded in 1998.[2]

Wikipedia describes the school’s history in more detail. The school was licensed by the Ministry of Education of the Turks and Caicos Islands in January 1998 and moved to St. Kitts and Nevis in January 2000 with its principal dean and eight students. The government and Ministry of Education of St. Kitts and Nevis approved and chartered it in March 2000. The Brighton’s Estate site was bought in December 2005, and the first campus was functional in January 2008; a new 30,000 sq ft building was built between May 2015 and December 2017.[3] The school’s own page mentions the building (construction began in 2015) with a library, a simulation lab, small-group rooms, a gymnasium and student lounges.[2]

Founding year differs by source: the school says 1998, while the Wikipedia infobox lists 2000. The two dates refer to different events (first licence in the Turks and Caicos Islands versus the move to and charter in St. Kitts and Nevis).[3] Some directories list the school under Basseterre; the school’s campus address is in Cayon.[1]

Is Windsor University School of Medicine ranked?

We could not confirm a position for Windsor University School of Medicine in the QS World University Rankings 2027, which was published on 18 June 2026. The QS website blocks automated access, and none of the sources we read names the school in that ranking. We therefore show “Not confirmed” rather than a number. How we compile rankings.

The order of the table on the St. Kitts and Nevis country page is not a ranking of quality. For a medical school, the more useful checks are accreditation status and recognition for licensing, covered in the next section.

Is Windsor University School of Medicine accredited?

The sources use different wording, so we quote them as written.

  • CAAM-HP (Caribbean Accreditation Authority for Education in Medicine and other Health Professions): the accreditor’s own page lists the status as “Probation for 2 years, 2025 - 2027”.[4] Its July 2026 update says the board considered the 2025–2026 progress report at its meeting on 28–29 July 2026, commended the school’s efforts to address the areas of concern cited in the 2025 site visit report, noted minor concerns, and urged the school to continue during the second year of probation.[6]
  • How CAAM-HP got there: in January 2023, after a site visit in September 2022, the programme was granted Accreditation with Conditions for two years (2023–2025). After a site visit on 12–24 May 2025, the board at its meeting of 24–25 July 2025 placed the programme on probation for two years, citing the school’s financial situation, the number and qualifications of faculty and a high attrition rate.[6] The document also records that an earlier decision in July 2017 was “Not Accredited”.[6]
  • The school’s own statements: the school’s home page says it is “officially accredited” by CAAM-HP and compliant with the “ECFMG 2024 Rule”.[1] Its accreditation page says CAAM-HP “granted an Accreditation”, that graduates “are eligible to be” ECFMG certified, and that the school is accredited by the Accreditation Board of St. Kitts & Nevis. None of these statements carries a date.[7]
  • Wikipedia: says the school is listed in the World Directory of Medical Schools and in the FAIMER directory of organizations that accredit medical schools.[3] We could not open the directory itself to check this.

Because a probation status is a formal accreditation outcome that can change, check the current status with CAAM-HP and with the licensing body of the country where you want to practise before you enrol. We do not give a view on whether the school meets any country’s licensing rules.

What can you study at Windsor University School of Medicine?

The school offers two programmes:[1]

  • MD (Doctor of Medicine): Wikipedia describes an 11-semester programme with three semesters per calendar year. Semesters 1–5 are basic sciences on the St. Kitts campus; semesters 6–11 include 72 weeks of clinical clerkships at sites in the USA and Jamaica.[3] CAAM-HP’s record names clinical affiliates in Chicago and Jamaica for the 2025 site visit.[6]
  • Biomedical Sciences: a four-semester programme for high-school graduates who lack the MD prerequisites (Wikipedia). The school’s page calls it “formerly known as the premedical program”.[3][1]

How much does Windsor University School of Medicine cost?

The school’s fee page states a fee structure effective 1 May 2024 and notes that a prior structure exists. Amounts are shown only with “$”; the page does not name the currency (very likely US dollars, but not stated) and does not say whether the amounts are per semester, per year or per MD level.[5]

LevelTuitionTotal with fees
MD1 to MD4 (basic sciences)$6,240$7,190
MD5$7,740$8,840
MD6 to MD11 (clinical sciences)$10,990$11,490

Other listed items include a one-time enrolment fee of $1,000, a seat reservation of $500 (non-refundable), $400 transport, a $150 visa fee paid to the ministry, USA malpractice insurance of $400 per term, Caribbean health insurance of $300 per semester and a degree fee of $750.[5] The page lists the levels MD1 to MD11, which matches the 11-semester structure described above, so the amounts are probably charged per semester. Confirm this with the school before you budget.[3]

For rent and living costs, see the St. Kitts and Nevis guide.

How do you apply to Windsor University School of Medicine?

Applications are made online through the school’s Apply page. The school’s requirements for the MD are:[8]

  • basic matriculation requirements from an accredited institution, including an undergraduate degree or foreign equivalent; the page recommends at least 90 undergraduate credit hours before matriculation;
  • coursework in general biology or zoology, general or inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry or biochemistry, physics, English or humanities, and mathematics;
  • no MCAT requirement; MCAT or a similar test applies only to US and Canadian students.

Documents: official transcript, application form, two official letters of recommendation, a personal statement, a CV, two passport-sized photos and, for US and Canadian students, MCAT or similar scores.[8] We give no deadlines because they change; check the Apply page. Visa and enrolment fees are shown on the fee page.[5]

Which language level do you need?

The school’s admissions page lists no English-proficiency test. It requires coursework in English or the humanities as part of the prerequisites.[8] If English is not your first language, ask the admissions office whether a test score is requested, because the page does not say.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Windsor University School of Medicine accredited?

CAAM-HP lists the programme’s status as “Probation for 2 years, 2025 - 2027”.[4] The school’s own pages describe it as accredited by CAAM-HP and by the Accreditation Board of St. Kitts & Nevis, without dates.[7] Check the current status with CAAM-HP.

Where is Windsor University School of Medicine?

The campus is at 1621 Brighton’s Estate in Cayon, St. Kitts. The school also has a US information office in Oak Brook, Illinois.[1]

When was Windsor University School of Medicine founded?

The school says 1998.[2] According to Wikipedia it was licensed in the Turks and Caicos Islands in January 1998 and moved to St. Kitts and Nevis in January 2000.[3]

How much is the MD tuition?

Under the fee structure effective 1 May 2024, tuition is listed as $6,240 for MD1 to MD4, $7,740 for MD5 and $10,990 for MD6 to MD11. The page does not state the currency or billing period.[5]

Do I need the MCAT?

The school says there is no MCAT requirement; the MCAT or a similar test applies only to US and Canadian students.[8]

More about studying in Saint Kitts and Nevis

More university profiles in Saint Kitts and Nevis

Sources

[1] Windsor University School of Medicine: home page (page without a date; footer © 2026)

[2] Windsor University School of Medicine: About us (page without a date)

[3] Wikipedia: Windsor University School of Medicine (history, programme structure and directory listings (secondary source))

[4] CAAM-HP: Windsor University School of Medicine, accreditation status (page without a date; latest news item on the page dated 7 May 2026)

[5] Windsor University School of Medicine: Tuition and fees (fee structure effective 1 May 2024)

[6] CAAM-HP: Windsor University School of Medicine, St Kitts (determinations and updates) (July 2026 update)

[7] Windsor University School of Medicine: Accreditation and recognition (page without a date)

[8] Windsor University School of Medicine: Admissions (MD) (page without a date; footer © 2026)

Figures may change; check official sources before you decide. How we compile our data · Found an error? Tell us.