University.im

University · Sofia, Bulgaria

Technical University of Sofia

By

Location
Sofia
QS 2027
1401+
Students
10,000+ Bulgarian, ~1,000 foreign
Founded
1945 (roots 1942)
The short answer

The Technical University of Sofia (TU-Sofia) is a public engineering university in Bulgaria’s capital.[1] Its history page counts more than 10,000 Bulgarian and nearly 1,000 foreign students.[2] In June 2026 it entered the QS World University Rankings for the first time, in the 1401+ band of the 2027 edition.[3]

Fees for foreign students are set by the Council of Ministers. For 2026/27 the government set €4,730 a year (full-time bachelor’s) in Electrical Engineering, Electronics and Automation,[4] while the university’s international page states €3,000 to €4,000 a year depending on the specialty and €2,500 for the preparatory year.[5] The two sources differ, so confirm your programme’s fee. English-taught engineering programmes exist in several faculties.[6]

Key facts

Official nameТехнически университет – София (Technical University – Sofia)
LocationSofia, Bulgaria (8 Kliment Ohridski Blvd, 1000 Sofia)[7]
TypePublic (state-owned) technical university[1]
FoundedHigher Technical School inaugurated on 4 October 1942; renamed State Polytechnic in 1945[2]
StudentsMore than 10,000 Bulgarian and nearly 1,000 foreign students (2025)[2]
QS World University Rankings 20271401+ (first inclusion; 1,504 universities in the published ranking)[3]
FacultiesInclude Automatics, Electrical Engineering, Electronic Engineering and Technologies, Computer Systems and Technologies, Mechanical Engineering, Transport, Telecommunications, Management and Applied Mathematics and Informatics[6]
Language of teachingBulgarian, English, German (German Engineering Education faculty), and French in a French-language department[6]
Preparatory year10 months of language and specialised preparation if you do not pass the language exam; €2,500[5]
Tuition for foreign students, university page€3,000–4,000 per year depending on the specialty (year not stated)[5]
Tuition 2026/27, Electrical Engineering, Electronics and Automation€4,730 full-time, €1,800 part-time (government decision of September 2026)[4]
Bachelor’s lengthFour years full time[8]
Master’s lengthOne and a half years after the bachelor’s[8]
Official websitetu-sofia.bg

Checked against the sources listed at the bottom of this page on 7 November 2026.

About the Technical University of Sofia

The idea of a technical university in Bulgaria goes back to a bequest by Evlogi Georgiev in 1897. The Act on the Higher Technical School in Sofia was promulgated on 12 June 1941, the school was inaugurated on 4 October 1942, and in 1945 it was renamed State Polytechnic. In 1953 the State Polytechnic was divided into four autonomous institutes.[2] Wikipedia dates the foundation to 15 October 1945 but gives conflicting dates (1991 and 1995) for the change to the present name; the university’s history page does not cover that.[1]

The university’s history page describes it as one of Europe’s leading engineering institutions, with more than 10,000 Bulgarian and nearly 1,000 foreign students.[2]

Not the same as: Sofia University, the Medical University of Sofia or UNWE. TU-Sofia is a separate engineering university with its own admissions. See the Bulgaria guide.

How is the Technical University of Sofia ranked?

In the QS World University Rankings 2027, published in June 2026, TU-Sofia is in the 1401+ band. This is its first appearance in the ranking. The 2027 edition evaluated 8,808 institutions from 106 countries and published 1,504; the university says only two Bulgarian institutions are included. Its strongest indicators are International Research Network, Faculty Student Ratio, Sustainability and Employment Outcomes.[3]

The result comes from the university’s own announcement; we could not open QS’s own page, which blocks automated access. How we compile rankings.

What can you study at the Technical University of Sofia?

The foreign-student pages list bachelor’s programmes by faculty. Programmes taught in English (some also in Bulgarian) include:[6]

  • Electrical Engineering (Bulgarian and English), Electronic Engineering (English), Telecommunications (Bulgarian and English) and Telecommunications Engineering (English).
  • Mechanical Engineering (Bulgarian and English), Mechatronic Systems (English) and Logistics Engineering (Bulgarian and English).
  • Computer Science and Engineering (English) and Smart Systems and Artificial Intelligence (Bulgarian and English).
  • Aeronautical Engineering (Bulgarian and English) and Automotive Engineering (English).
  • Industrial Engineering (English) at the English Language Faculty of Engineering, and Design and Technologies for Clothing and Textiles (Bulgarian and English).

The German Engineering Education and Industrial Management faculty teaches in German (Business Informatics, Computer Systems and Technologies, Mechatronics and Information Technology).[6] A bachelor’s degree takes four years of full-time study (the five-year Electrical Engineering course in the French department leads to a Master of Engineering). A master’s course lasts one and a half years after the bachelor’s.[8]

How much does the Technical University of Sofia cost in 2026/27?

Fees for foreign students are determined each year by a decree of the Council of Ministers.[5] The sources we read give two different pictures:

SourceAmount (EUR)
University’s foreign-student page (year not stated): annual tuition€3,000 to €4,000, depending on the specialty
Same page: preparatory year€2,500
Government decision, 17 Sep 2026: Electrical Engineering, Electronics and Automation, full-time bachelor’s and master’s€4,730 per year
Same decision, part-time€1,800 per year

The Bulgarian News Agency reported the government’s decision on 17 September 2026; it covers fees at TU-Sofia for foreign students in 2026/27 and states amounts in euros.[4] The university’s page gives no academic year, so the newer government figure is the safer guide for that field, and you should ask the Foreign Students’ Department about your programme.

Payment and special cases

Half of the annual fee is paid at the start of each semester, after you receive the notification letter of admission. Students with dual citizenship (one of them Bulgarian) pay 50% of the annual fee. Citizens of EU and EEA countries pay the same tuition as Bulgarians if they apply the same way, except for preparatory language education.[5]

How do you apply to the Technical University of Sofia?

Application is open to foreign students with a secondary school diploma that gives access to higher education in the country where it was earned.[9] The required documents include an application form, a passport copy, the diploma with its supplement, a document confirming the right to continue to university, a certificate of recognised secondary education issued by the Regional Department of Education, and photos. The diploma and the right-to-continue document must be translated into Bulgarian and legalised or apostilled.[9]

Candidates are ranked on their diploma scores in mathematics and physics or informatics, which must be at least 62% of the maximum under the grading system of their country.[9] Documents are sent scanned to foreign.stud@tu-sofia.bg and also submitted in person or by registered mail to the Foreign Students’ Department, 8 Kliment Ohridski Blvd.[9] We give no deadlines because they change every year.

Which language level do you need?

For English-taught programmes the page accepts these proofs of English: Cambridge FCE, CAE or CPE; IELTS; Pitman Higher Intermediate to Advanced; TOEFL (minimum 550 paper, 213 computer-based or 79 internet-based); or PTE Academic (minimum 59).[9] Applicants with some English sit an exam at the university and, if they pass, enter the first year directly. Others attend a 10-month preparatory language and specialised course in English or Bulgarian, depending on the language of the programme.[9]

During the second semester of the preparatory year students also study basic subjects (Mathematics, Physics, Informatics) and sit exams in them.[8]

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the QS ranking of the Technical University of Sofia?

It is in the 1401+ band of the QS World University Rankings 2027, its first appearance in the ranking.[3]

How much are tuition fees for foreign students at TU-Sofia?

The university’s page states €3,000 to €4,000 a year depending on the specialty; for 2026/27 the government set €4,730 for full-time Electrical Engineering, Electronics and Automation.[5][4]

Can I study engineering in English at TU-Sofia?

Yes. Programmes such as Electronic Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering, Automotive Engineering and Industrial Engineering are taught in English.[6]

Do I need a preparatory year?

If you cannot pass the university’s language exam, you attend a 10-month preparatory course first. It costs €2,500 according to the university’s page.[9][5]

Is TU-Sofia the same as Sofia University?

No. It is a separate engineering university with its own admissions.[2]

More about studying in Bulgaria

More university profiles in Bulgaria

Sources

[1] Wikipedia: Technical University of Sofia (type and name history; its student and faculty figures are inconsistent, so they are not used)

[2] Technical University of Sofia: History (page without a date)

[3] Technical University of Sofia: first inclusion in QS World University Rankings 2027 (QS publishes at topuniversities.com, which blocks automated access) (article of 18 Jun 2026)

[4] Bulgarian News Agency: Government Approves Changes to Tuition Fees at Two Higher Education Institutions (article of 17 Sep 2026)

[5] Technical University of Sofia: Foreign students application, Financial matters (page without a date; brochure for 2026/2027 linked on the site)

[6] Technical University of Sofia: Foreign students application, Degree courses (page without a date)

[7] Technical University of Sofia: Contacts (page without a date)

[8] Technical University of Sofia: Foreign students application, Education of admitted students (page without a date)

[9] Technical University of Sofia: Foreign students application, How can you apply (page without a date)

Figures may change; check official sources before you decide. How we compile our data · Found an error? Tell us.