University.im

University · Sofia, Bulgaria

University of National and World Economy (UNWE)

By

Location
Sofia
Founded
1920
Students
Nearly 20,000
Non-EU students 2025/26
388
The short answer

The University of National and World Economy (UNWE) in Sofia is a public economics university, the largest and oldest higher school of economics in Bulgaria and Southeastern Europe.[1][2] It was established in 1920 as the Free University of Political and Economic Sciences, and nearly 20,000 students are enrolled.[1][3] In 2025/26, 388 of them came from outside the EU and EEA.[4] We could not confirm a QS World University Rankings 2027 position.

The tuition page lists €3,000 a year for bachelor’s programmes in Bulgarian or English for foreign students, and €3,000 to €3,300 for the preparatory language course; the page does not state its academic year (last updated 22 January 2025).[5] Fees are set each year by a decree of the Council of Ministers.[5]

Key facts

Official nameУниверситет за национално и световно стопанство (УНСС), University of National and World Economy
LocationSofia, Bulgaria (address as given by UNWE: 1700 Sofia, Student District, No. 19 December 8th St)[6]
TypePublic research university[2]
Founded1920, as the Free University of Political and Economic Sciences; current name since 1990 (formalised by the National Assembly in 1995)[1]
StudentsNearly 20,000 (February 2026)[3]
Students from outside the EU/EEA388 in 2025/26[4]
FacultiesFinance and Accounting; Business; General Economics; Law; International Economics and Politics; Economics of Infrastructure; Management and Administration; Applied Informatics and Statistics[2]
Programmes in EnglishWikipedia lists four bachelor’s majors taught only in English: Economics, International Economic Relationships, Finance and Accounting, Business Informatics[2]
QS World University Rankings 2027Not confirmed[7]
Tuition for foreign students, bachelor’s€3,000 per year (Bulgarian or English); year not stated on the page[5]
Preparatory language course€3,000 per year (Bulgarian) or €3,300 per year (English)[5]
Foreign Students DivisionOffice 1030; phone +359 2 8195 438[6]
Official websiteunwe.bg

Checked against the sources listed at the bottom of this page on 7 November 2026.

About the University of National and World Economy

UNWE was established in 1920 by 11 professors, businessmen and public figures as the Free University of Political and Economic Sciences. In 1940 it became the State Higher School of Financial and Administrative Sciences, and in 1947 it was merged into Sofia University as the Faculty of Economic and Social Sciences. Independence was restored in 1952 as the Higher Economic Institute, and in 1953 it was named Karl Marx Higher Economic Institute. On 27 April 1990 the Academic Council decided to rename it the University of National and World Economy; the National Assembly formalised this on 26 July 1995.[1]

The Bulgarian News Agency reported that a plaque was unveiled on 2 February 2026 at 6 Slavyanska Street, the building where the predecessor was founded; it gives the founding date as 21 May 1920, while the university’s history page cites an order of 5 July 1920.[3][1] Today the campus is in the Student District of Sofia.[6] Wikipedia describes UNWE as a public research university with eight faculties.[2]

Not the same as: Sofia University or the Technical University of Sofia. They are separate institutions with their own admissions. See the Bulgaria guide.

How is UNWE ranked?

QS World University Rankings 2027 (published 18 June 2026): we could not confirm a position for UNWE. The Technical University of Sofia says in its own announcement that only two Bulgarian institutions are in the published ranking and names itself as one, without naming the other.[8] UNWE’s own “University Ratings” page lists headings for Times Higher Education and QS, but the copy we read shows no positions.[7] Wikipedia notes, without a date, that UNWE is not listed in the QS, Times or Shanghai rankings.[2]

Wikipedia also reports high placements in Bulgarian national ratings, which it dates to 2006–2008 or leaves undated, so we do not rely on them. How we compile rankings.

What can you study at UNWE?

UNWE is organised in eight faculties:[2]

  • Finance and Accounting; Business; General Economics;
  • Law; International Economics and Politics; Economics of Infrastructure;
  • Management and Administration; Applied Informatics and Statistics.

Wikipedia reports 39 bachelor’s majors, four of which are taught only in English: Economics, International Economic Relationships, Finance and Accounting, and Business Informatics.[2] The foreign-student page says applicants for the Economics subfield in English need proof of English, and that students without Bulgarian or English spend the first year in a preparatory language course.[9] The Law master’s is listed on the tuition page in Bulgarian.[5]

How much does UNWE cost for foreign students?

ProgrammeLanguage of teachingAnnual fee (EUR)Per semester
Bachelor’sBulgarian€3,000€1,500
Bachelor’sEnglish€3,000€1,500
Preparatory language courseBulgarian€3,000€1,500
Preparatory language courseEnglish€3,300€1,650
Master’s in LawBulgarian€3,300€1,650

The page was last updated on 22 January 2025 and does not state an academic year, so treat the amounts as a guide and confirm the 2026/27 fee with the Foreign Students Division.[5] Students with dual citizenship, one of them Bulgarian, pay 50% of the foreigners’ fee, and the fees are determined each year by a decree of the Council of Ministers.[5] The copy of the page we read lists no other master’s programmes, so we cannot give master’s fees.[5]

How do you apply to UNWE?

Citizens of EU and EEA states are admitted under the conditions and rules for Bulgarian citizens. Citizens of other countries can apply under intergovernmental agreements, under Council of Ministers acts, or directly under the Higher Education Act, in which case they submit documents to the Sector for Foreign Students.[9]

Documents for direct applicants include an application form, the secondary school certificate with grades, a document from a competent authority confirming the right to continue to university, proof of Bulgarian or English where relevant, a medical certificate, a copy of the ID document and two photos. Secondary-school grades in the score-forming subjects (Mathematics, Literature, Geography, History) must average at least 62% of the maximum.[9] Contact the Foreign Students Division in office 1030.[6]

This foreign-student page was last updated in June 2012, so confirm every requirement with the university. We give no deadlines because they change every year.[9]

Which language level do you need?

For the Economics subfield in English, the 2012 page asks for one of the following: TOEFL (at least 590 paper, 243 computer-based or 96 internet-based), TOEIC 780, IELTS 7.5, or Cambridge CAE, Proficiency or First Certificate at grades A or B. Applicants without a certificate can sit an exam before a commission and need at least “Very Good 5”; those who do not pass study a preparatory English course in the first year.[9]

Foreign citizens without Bulgarian take a first-year preparatory course in Bulgarian before Bulgarian-taught bachelor’s programmes.[9] Because the page is old, ask UNWE whether these scores are still current.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does UNWE cost for international students?

The tuition page lists €3,000 a year for bachelor’s programmes in Bulgarian or English and €3,000–3,300 for the preparatory language course. It does not state an academic year.[5]

Can I study in English at UNWE?

Yes. Wikipedia lists four bachelor’s majors taught only in English (Economics, International Economic Relationships, Finance and Accounting, Business Informatics).[2] English proof is required for the Economics subfield in English.[9]

What is UNWE’s QS ranking?

We could not confirm a QS World University Rankings 2027 position.[7]

How many international students does UNWE have?

In 2025/26, 388 students from outside the EU and EEA were enrolled; UNWE does not keep separate statistics for EU students.[4]

When was UNWE founded?

In 1920, as the Free University of Political and Economic Sciences. It has carried its current name since 1990.[1]

More about studying in Bulgaria

More university profiles in Bulgaria

Sources

[1] UNWE: History (unwe.bg blocks automated access; read in an archived copy of 28 Aug 2026; page updated 5 Feb 2025)

[2] Wikipedia: University of National and World Economy (type, faculties and English-taught majors; some figures undated or from 2015)

[3] Bulgarian News Agency: Commemorative plaque unveiled in Sofia for the 105th anniversary of UNWE (article of 2 Feb 2026)

[4] Bulgarian News Agency: University of National and World Economy Hosts Nearly 400 Students from Countries Outside EU (article of 20 Jul 2026)

[5] UNWE International: Tuition fees (unwe.bg blocks automated access; read in an archived copy of 9 Dec 2025; page updated 22 Jan 2025, academic year not stated)

[6] UNWE: Contacts (unwe.bg blocks automated access; read in an archived copy of 8 Feb 2026; page updated 23 Jul 2024)

[7] UNWE: University ratings (unwe.bg blocks automated access; read in an archived copy of 9 Feb 2026; page updated 9 Jun 2025)

[8] Technical University of Sofia: first inclusion in QS World University Rankings 2027 (QS publishes at topuniversities.com, which blocks automated access) (article of 18 Jun 2026)

[9] UNWE: Foreign students (unwe.bg blocks automated access; read in an archived copy of 8 May 2026; page updated 14 Jun 2012, so confirm current rules)

Figures may change; check official sources before you decide. How we compile our data · Found an error? Tell us.