The University of Bordeaux (Université de Bordeaux) is a public research university in south-west France with about 54,000 students, of whom 7,600 are international.[1] It is ranked 485th in the QS World University Rankings 2027, up from 494th the year before.[2]
For 2026/27 the standard national tuition is €178 for a bachelor’s, €255 for a master’s and €398 for a doctorate. Non-EU students in bachelor’s and master’s programmes pay €2,902 and €3,950 unless they are exempt.[3] Most programmes are taught in French and the university requires level B2 in French, proven by a TCF or DALF certificate.[4] The university also lists master’s programmes taught in English.[5]
Key facts
| Official name | Université de Bordeaux |
| Location | Bordeaux area, France (head office 351 cours de la Libération, 33405 Talence)[6] |
| Type | Public research university[7] |
| Founded | 1441 by Pope Eugene IV; the current university was formed in 2014 when earlier Bordeaux universities were reunited[7] |
| Students | About 54,000, of which 7,600 international (page updated 18 Mar 2024)[1] |
| Staff | About 6,000, including roughly 3,200 lecturer-researchers and researchers[1] |
| Training components | Four colleges (Law, Political Science, Economics and Management; Health Sciences; Human Sciences; Science and Technology), the Graduate Research School, the Institute of Technology, the Institute of Education, the Institute of Vine and Wine Science and the Apprentice Training Centre[8] |
| Doctoral studies | 8 doctoral schools, more than 2,000 doctoral students enrolled each year[9] |
| Master’s taught in English | 23 programmes listed by the university[5] |
| QS World University Rankings 2027 | 485th (2026: 494th)[2] |
| Main language of teaching | French (level B2 compulsory, proven by TCF or DALF)[4] |
| Tuition 2026/27, standard rate | €178 bachelor’s · €255 master’s · €398 doctorate[3] |
| Tuition 2026/27, non-EU students (unless exempt) | €2,902 bachelor’s · €3,950 master’s[3] |
| Official website | u-bordeaux.fr |
Checked against the sources listed at the bottom of this page on 5 November 2026.
About the University of Bordeaux
The University of Bordeaux was established by Pope Eugene IV on 7 June 1441. It was abolished in 1793, reopened in 1896 and split into several universities in 1970; since 2014 the earlier Bordeaux universities have been reunited under the University of Bordeaux.[7] The university itself describes itself as “heir to a history of nearly six centuries”.[6]
Its head office is in Talence, on the southern edge of Bordeaux.[6] The university has 18 campus sites in Nouvelle-Aquitaine, on 187 hectares of campus land, and 38 university libraries. It has about 6,000 staff, including roughly 3,200 lecturer-researchers and researchers.[1]
How is the University of Bordeaux ranked?
In the QS World University Rankings 2027, published on 18 June 2026, the University of Bordeaux is 485th in the world. In 2026 it was 494th and in 2025 it was 535th.[2]
Rankings differ by publisher and year, so treat one position as one view. How we compile rankings.
What can you study at the University of Bordeaux?
Teaching is organised in four colleges and several institutes:[8]
- College of Law, Political Science, Economics and Management
- College of Health Sciences
- College of Human Sciences
- College of Science and Technology
- Institute of Technology, Institute of Education, Institute of Vine and Wine Science and the Apprentice Training Centre
Doctoral studies are coordinated by the Graduate Research School, which covers 8 doctoral schools and more than 2,000 doctoral students a year.[9]
The university’s page of master’s programmes taught in English lists 23 programmes (our count of the list): 4 in economics, management and business, 2 in health, 1 in oenology (wine science) and 16 in science and technology. The page does not state an English language requirement, so check the programme page.[5] Most other programmes are taught in French.[4]
How much does the University of Bordeaux cost in 2026/27?
| Level | Standard rate per year | Non-EU students per year (unless exempt) |
|---|---|---|
| Bachelor’s (incl. BUT, DAEU, MNESS, PASS) | €178 | €2,902 |
| Master’s | €255 | €3,950 |
| Doctorate and HDR | €398 | €398 (no higher rate) |
The university says these amounts for 2026/27 were published by the French government on 23 June 2026.[3] The page’s table does not label its rows; we read the lower amounts as the standard rate and the higher ones as the international rate for non-EU students.
Who pays the standard rate anyway?
The higher rate does not apply to students from the EU, the EEA, Monaco, Andorra, Quebec or Switzerland, to holders of a resident card or equivalent permit, to refugees and beneficiaries of subsidiary protection, to students who have been tax residents in France (or attached to a tax household there) for at least two years, or to non-EU students re-enrolling in the same programme at the same level.[3]
Partial exemption
A partial exemption from the international rate is not granted automatically; you must apply. Approved applicants pay the French/EU rate. The page describes fast-track routes with documents (for example a certificate of a previous exemption, disability recognition, a home-country scholarship or a place in an eligible programme) and, for social circumstances, a route where you first pay the international fee, then apply online; a committee reviews these applications in November with decisions in December, and an approved fee is refunded.[3]
CVEC and other costs
Students must pay the compulsory Student and Campus Life Contribution (CVEC) to the CROUS before enrolling. The university’s page gives €105 a year and lists exempt groups such as scholarship holders, refugees and beneficiaries of subsidiary protection.[4] Tuition is only part of the bill: for rent and living costs, see our France guide and the Study in France guide.
How do you apply to the University of Bordeaux?
The route depends on level, nationality and the country you live in. The university’s admissions page for international students (updated 30 Jan 2024) describes these routes:[10]
- Bachelor’s and master’s, countries with a Campus France centre (CEF): you apply on the Études en France platform; the centre and the university then examine applications and reply, followed by administrative and academic registration.[10]
- Countries without a CEF: you consult the available programmes and apply on Apoflux; law and economics-management-AES programmes are excluded from this route.[10]
- French baccalaureate: holders of a French baccalaureate obtained abroad, French or European nationals, or holders of an equivalent diploma apply through Parcoursup.[10]
- Master 1: the national platform Mon Master applies to holders of a French bachelor’s or other French diploma that gives access to a master’s. Foreign nationals outside the EEA, Andorra, Switzerland and Monaco who live in a country covered by Études en France continue to use that procedure instead.[11]
- Second or third year of a bachelor’s or BUT, vocational bachelor’s, Master 2: applicants not yet registered at the university use the eCandidat portal; IUT courses use CANDIUT. The page says it does not concern people living in a country covered by the Études en France procedure.[12]
- Doctorate: register for the recruitment campaign on the ADUM portal; selection is handled by each doctoral school, so contact the school for your field.[9]
We give no deadlines here because they change every year and differ by programme. Check the timetable of your programme before you start.
Which language level do you need?
The university states that a B2 level in French is compulsory, proven by a certificate (TCF or DALF). B1 is required for supervised mobility. You may not need a certificate if you come from a country where French is an official language or if your secondary education was mostly in French; graduates of certain French bilingual sections are also exempt.[4] B2 is upper-intermediate on the CEFR scale, the European scale from A1 to C2.
The university is a TCF-DAP test centre; the page gives a test fee of €73. The certificate is requested when you make your preliminary application for admission.[4] For programmes taught in English, the university’s list does not state an English requirement, so ask the programme.[5]
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the University of Bordeaux free for international students?
Do I need to speak French to study at the University of Bordeaux?
How do I apply as an international student?
How is the University of Bordeaux ranked?
It is 485th in the QS World University Rankings 2027, up from 494th in 2026.[2]
Is the University of Bordeaux the same as Bordeaux Montaigne?
No. Bordeaux III (now Bordeaux Montaigne) did not join the 2014 reunion of the Bordeaux universities.[7]
More about studying in France
- France: best universities
- Study in France: complete guide
- Cost of Studying Abroad
- International Student Scholarships
- University Ranking Methodology
More university profiles in France
- Aix-Marseille University
- CentraleSupélec
- École des Ponts ParisTech
- École Polytechnique
- École Normale Supérieure de Lyon
- ESSEC Business School
- HEC Paris
- INSA Lyon
- PSL University
- Sciences Po
- Sorbonne University
- Claude Bernard University Lyon 1
- University of Lille
- University of Montpellier
- University of Strasbourg
- Université Grenoble Alpes
- Université Paris Cité
- Université Paris-Saclay
- Toulouse III – Paul Sabatier University
Sources
[1] University of Bordeaux: Press resources (key figures) (page updated 18 Mar 2024)
[2] L’Étudiant: Classement QS 2027, les universités françaises en baisse (QS publishes the ranking at topuniversities.com, which blocks automated access) (article updated 3 Jul 2026; QS edition released 18 Jun 2026)
[3] University of Bordeaux: Tuition fees for international non-EU students (page updated 3 Sep 2026)
[4] University of Bordeaux: Plan ahead for your stay in Bordeaux (page updated 26 Jun 2026)
[5] University of Bordeaux: Masters in English (page updated 7 Apr 2026)
[6] University of Bordeaux: About us (page without a date)
[7] Wikipedia: University of Bordeaux (history; secondary source)
[8] University of Bordeaux: Education (page without a date)
[9] University of Bordeaux: Doctoral education (page updated 9 Jun 2026)
[10] University of Bordeaux: Applying for admission (international students) (page updated 30 Jan 2024, so confirm current dates with your programme)
[11] University of Bordeaux: Master 1 degrees (page updated 8 Feb 2023, so confirm current dates with your programme)
[12] University of Bordeaux: University Technical Diplomas, Bachelor and Master 2 degrees (page updated 16 Oct 2025)
Figures may change; check official sources before you decide. How we compile our data · Found an error? Tell us.