The University of Lille (Université de Lille) is a public research university in northern France with over 80,000 students.[1] It is ranked 686th in the QS World University Rankings 2027, down from 654th the year before.[2]
For 2026/27 the standard national tuition is €178 for a bachelor’s and €255 for a master’s; the national rate for non-EU students is €2,902 and €3,950.[3] The university states that non-EU students enrolling in a master’s for the first time, distance learners and doctoral students pay the standard fees; non-EU bachelor’s students can ask the fee waiver committee for a waiver.[4] Teaching is mostly in French with a B2 requirement, and the university lists master’s programmes taught in English.[5][6]
Key facts
| Official name | Université de Lille |
| Location | Lille, France (42 rue Paul Duez, 59000 Lille)[1] |
| Type | Public research university[7] |
| Founded | 2018, when three independent Lille universities merged into one; roots in the University of Douai, founded 1559[7] |
| Students | Over 80,000 on the home page; the international office page says “close to 107,000”, and the sources do not explain the difference[1][8] |
| Campuses | Six campuses in the Lille metropolitan area (Lille, Villeneuve d’Ascq, Roubaix, Tourcoing)[7] |
| Doctoral studies | Offered through 7 regional doctoral schools[9] |
| Master’s taught in English | 50 entries listed, 36 taught entirely and 14 partly in English (our count of the list)[6] |
| QS World University Rankings 2027 | 686th (2026: 654th)[2] |
| Main language of teaching | French (proof of at least B2 required unless exempted)[10] |
| Tuition 2026/27, standard rate | €178 bachelor’s · €255 master’s[3] |
| Tuition 2026/27, non-EU students | National rate €2,902 bachelor’s · €3,950 master’s; standard fees for first-time master’s, distance-learning and doctoral students[4] |
| Official website | univ-lille.fr |
Checked against the sources listed at the bottom of this page on 5 November 2026.
About the University of Lille
The University of Lille traces its roots to the University of Douai, founded in 1559. The remaining Douai faculties were transferred to Lille in 1896, the university became three independent universities in 1970, and in 2018 those three merged to form the single University of Lille again.[7]
It has six campuses in the Lille metropolitan area and 15 schools and divisions across four domains: arts, literature and languages; law, economics and management; humanities and social sciences; and science, technology and health.[7] The university describes itself as multi-disciplinary and internationally oriented, with over 80,000 students.[1]
How is the University of Lille ranked?
In the QS World University Rankings 2027, published on 18 June 2026, the University of Lille is 686th in the world. In 2026 it was 654th, so it moved down by 32 places; in 2025 the table shows 721–730.[2]
Rankings differ by publisher and year, so treat one position as one view. How we compile rankings.
What can you study at the University of Lille?
The university offers degrees from the first year of a bachelor’s (BUT, DEUST, licence) through master’s programmes to the doctorate, which runs through 7 regional doctoral schools.[9] According to Wikipedia its schools and divisions fall into four domains: arts, literature and languages; law, economics and management; humanities and social sciences; and science, technology and health.[7]
The university’s page of master’s programmes taught in English lists 50 entries (our count): 36 taught entirely in English and 14 partly in English, across the same broad fields plus health and sport. The page does not state an English language requirement, so check the programme page.[6] Most other programmes are taught in French.[5]
How much does the University of Lille cost in 2026/27?
| Level | Standard rate per year | National rate for non-EU students per year |
|---|---|---|
| Bachelor’s (licence) | €178 | €2,902 |
| Master’s | €255 | €3,950 |
These are the national rates for 2026/27 listed by Campus France (page updated 25 June 2026). Doctoral students are not subject to the higher rate.[3] The University of Lille’s own fees page still shows the 2025/26 figures (€178 bachelor’s, €254 master’s, €628 engineering, €397 doctorate), so the master’s figure differs by €1 from the 2026/27 national rate.[11]
What non-EU students pay here
For 2026/27 the university states that non-EU students pay the standard fees if they enrol for the first time in a master’s or an engineering cycle, study by distance learning, or are doctoral students; it describes this as an automatic partial exemption from the differentiated fees.[4] The page does not list a standard-fee rule for first-time non-EU bachelor’s students. They are named among the students who can apply to the fee waiver committee, which examines each person’s social and personal situation and can propose a full or partial waiver. Waiver requests have their own closing dates, which the page lists.[4]
Decree No. 2026-385 of 19 May 2026 changed the national rules for fee waivers, according to Campus France; students who already held a waiver before the decree keep the previous rules until the end of their current cycle at the same institution.[3] The university’s waiver page does not mention the decree, so ask the registration office if your case is unclear.
CVEC and other costs
Every student also pays the compulsory Student and Campus Life Contribution (CVEC) unless exempt. The university’s fees page gives €105 for 2025/26; check the national CVEC site for the current amount.[11] Tuition is only part of the bill: for rent and living costs, see our France guide and the Study in France guide.
How do you apply to the University of Lille?
The route depends on level, nationality and country of residence. The university’s applications page lists these procedures:[9]
- Bachelor’s, first year (BUT, DEUST, licence 1, PASS): through the national Parcoursup portal.
- Bachelor’s, later years (BUT 2 and 3, DEUST 2, licence 2 and 3): online through the university’s eCandidat platform.
- Master 1: through the national Mon Master platform; some M1 programmes use eCandidat instead. Master 2: through eCandidat.
- Doctorate: through one of the 7 regional doctoral schools; see the doctorate site.
For international students the university says the process varies with your study level, country of residence and nationality, and offers an online support tool. If you live in an “Études en France” country, Campus France offices can help with your application.[10] The applications page itself does not describe the international steps and does not mention Études en France.[9] Students from outside the EU and the EEA also need a long-stay visa for stays over 90 days.[10]
We give no deadlines here because they change every year and differ by programme. Check the national platform calendar for your level before you start.
Which language level do you need?
The university states: “Unless exempted, you are required to provide proof of French proficiency (minimum B2 level).”[10] B2 is upper-intermediate on the CEFR scale, the European scale from A1 to C2. The “To learn French” page says that a good level of French is required to study at the university and advises students below B2 to take French lessons before arriving.[5]
The page points to the DELF, DALF and TCF certificates and to intensive French classes leading to a university diploma (DUEF) that can be used to register for a degree programme.[5] For programmes taught in English the university’s list does not state an English requirement.[6]
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the University of Lille free for international students?
No. The national 2026/27 rates are €178 (bachelor’s) and €255 (master’s), and €2,902 and €3,950 for non-EU students.[3] The university says non-EU students enrolling in a master’s for the first time, distance learners and doctoral students pay the standard fees, and others can apply for a waiver.[4]
Do I need to speak French to study at the University of Lille?
How do I apply as an international student?
How is the University of Lille ranked?
It is 686th in the QS World University Rankings 2027, down from 654th in 2026.[2]
Is the University of Lille the same as the Catholic University of Lille?
No. The University of Lille is public; the Catholic University of Lille is an independent private institution.[7]
More about studying in France
- France: best universities
- Study in France: complete guide
- Cost of Studying Abroad
- International Student Scholarships
- University Ranking Methodology
More university profiles in France
- Aix-Marseille University
- CentraleSupélec
- École des Ponts ParisTech
- École Polytechnique
- École Normale Supérieure de Lyon
- ESSEC Business School
- HEC Paris
- INSA Lyon
- PSL University
- Sciences Po
- Sorbonne University
- Claude Bernard University Lyon 1
- University of Bordeaux
- University of Montpellier
- University of Strasbourg
- Université Grenoble Alpes
- Université Paris Cité
- Université Paris-Saclay
- Toulouse III – Paul Sabatier University
Sources
[1] University of Lille: Home page (page without a date)
[2] L’Étudiant: Classement QS 2027, les universités françaises en baisse (QS publishes the ranking at topuniversities.com, which blocks automated access) (article updated 3 Jul 2026; QS edition released 18 Jun 2026)
[3] Campus France: Tuition fees in France (page updated 25 Jun 2026)
[4] University of Lille: Fee waiver committee (exoneration), 2026/27 (page without a date; covers 2026/27)
[5] University of Lille, International: To learn French (page without a date)
[6] University of Lille: Masters taught in English (page without a date)
[7] Wikipedia: University of Lille (history, campuses and structure; secondary source)
[8] University of Lille, International: Come to the University of Lille (page without a date)
[9] University of Lille: Applying (page without a date)
[10] University of Lille, Maison Internationale: I am a student (page without a date)
[11] University of Lille: Enrolment fees (page without a date; shows 2025/26 figures)
Figures may change; check official sources before you decide. How we compile our data · Found an error? Tell us.