University.im

University · Taipei, Taiwan

National Taiwan University

By

Location
Taipei
Students
34,000+
QS 2027
#54
Founded
1928
The short answer

National Taiwan University (NTU) is a public research university in Taipei with more than 34,000 students.[1] It is 54th in the QS World University Rankings 2027, its best result so far, and the only Taiwanese university in the top 100.[2][3]

International degree students pay by college. Undergraduate tuition runs from NT$50,460 to NT$62,100 per semester, and graduate full tuition from NT$51,280 to NT$62,360 in the main college groups. NTU’s fee page does not state an academic year.[4] Programmes are taught in Chinese or English; the university-wide minimum is CEFR A2 for Chinese-taught and B2 for English-taught programmes.[5]

Key facts

Official nameNational Taiwan University (NTU); Chinese name 國立臺灣大學[1]
LocationTaipei, Taiwan (main address No. 1, Sec. 4, Roosevelt Rd., Taipei 106319)[1]
TypePublic national research university[6]
Founded1928, as Taihoku Imperial University; renamed National Taiwan University in November 1945[6]
StudentsMore than 34,000[1]
Faculty and staffMore than 6,400[1]
Degree programmesAround 300 undergraduate and graduate degree programmes[7]
English-taught classesMore than 1,900, with English-taught programmes at all levels[8]
QS World University Rankings 202754th (17th in Asia)[3]
Tuition, undergraduate, international students (per semester, year not stated)NT$50,460–62,100 by college[4]
Tuition, graduate, international students (per semester, year not stated)Full tuition NT$51,280–62,360 in the main college groups; basic tuition from year 3[4]
Language requirementCEFR A2 for Chinese-taught programmes, CEFR B2 for English-taught programmes[5]
Applications per roundUp to five departments or graduate institutes[7]
Official websitentu.edu.tw

Checked against the sources listed at the bottom of this page on 5 November 2026.

About National Taiwan University

National Taiwan University (NTU) is a public research university in Taipei. It gives 1928 as its founding year and says it will reach its centennial in 2028.[1] It began as Taihoku Imperial University and took its present name in November 1945.[6]

NTU reports more than 34,000 students and more than 6,400 faculty and staff.[1] Its main campus is in Da’an District, Taipei. Other sites include the Shuiyuan Campus, a downtown medical campus with NTU Hospital, a campus in Zhubei (Hsinchu County) and a campus in Yunlin.[6]

Not the same as Taiwan Tech: NTU (National Taiwan University) and NTUST (National Taiwan University of Science and Technology, also called Taiwan Tech) are separate universities with separate admissions.

How is National Taiwan University ranked?

In the QS World University Rankings 2027, published on 18 June 2026, NTU is 54th in the world, up from 63rd a year earlier. It is the only Taiwanese university in the top 100.[2] A Taiwanese technology outlet reports that this is NTU’s best placement in the ranking and puts it 17th in Asia.[3]

The same ranking placed four Taiwanese universities in the global top 200, a national record.[2] For the others, see our Taiwan university guide. Rankings differ by publisher and year, so treat one position as one view. How we compile rankings.

What can you study at National Taiwan University?

NTU offers around 300 undergraduate and graduate degree programmes, and international applicants choose among them by department or graduate institute.[7] The university lists more than 1,900 English-taught classes across its colleges and says it has English-taught programmes at all levels of study.[8]

The international fee schedule groups programmes by college and shows the range of fields:[4]

  • Humanities and social sciences: liberal arts, social sciences, law and management, plus the School of Political Science and Economics.
  • Science and engineering: science, bio-resources and agriculture, engineering, electrical engineering and computer science, and life science.
  • Health: medicine, public health and clinical dentistry.
  • International College: a bachelor’s programme in semiconductors and master’s programmes in global agriculture technology and genomic science, disaster risk reduction and resilience, biodiversity, and smart medicine and health informatics.
  • Business: a Global MBA (GMBA) and an Executive MBA (EMBA).

How much does National Taiwan University cost?

Undergraduate, international students

College groupTuition per semester (NT$)
Liberal arts, social sciences, law50,460
Management51,220
Science, bio-resources and agriculture58,520
Engineering, electrical engineering and computer science58,940
Life science60,520
International College: Global Undergraduate Program in Semiconductors60,000
Medicine (except the Departments of Medicine and Dentistry), public health62,100

The page lists no rate for international students in the Departments of Medicine and Dentistry.[4]

Graduate, international students

Programme groupFull tuition per semester (NT$)Basic tuition from year 3 (NT$)
Liberal arts, social sciences, law51,28025,080
Management (excluding GMBA and EMBA)51,58025,440
Science, bio-resources and agriculture, life science57,78029,040
Engineering, electrical engineering and computer science, Graduate School of Advanced Technology60,72029,380
Medicine, public health62,36031,000
Graduate Institute of Clinical Dentistry72,46035,900
School of Political Science and Economics100,00040,000
Master/PhD in Global Health150,00031,180

These are the rates for international students. Full tuition is charged for the first two years and basic tuition from the third year.[4] Four International College master’s programmes have their own rates, from NT$80,000 to NT$100,000 in full tuition.[4] The Global MBA charges a basic tuition of NT$31,500 plus NT$12,000 per credit, and the Executive MBA a full tuition of NT$193,200.[4]

What the page does not say

NTU’s fee page does not name an academic year, calls itself a reference, and refers readers to the Office of Academic Affairs for the actual fees of each year.[4] The Office of International Affairs says the approximate figures are per semester and that each academic year has two semesters of about five months.[9] The page also lists separate, lower rates for students with overseas Chinese or Hong Kong/Macao status.[4] Insurance, a network fee and dormitory charges appear on the payment notice and are not part of these figures.[9]

Exchange students are exempt from NTU tuition under reciprocity but pay a campus computing and internet fee of about NT$400 to NT$600.[9] For living costs, see our Taiwan guide.

How do you apply to National Taiwan University?

International degree students apply through NTU’s online application system. NTU says it runs international admissions under the regulations of the Ministry of Education and does not work with recruitment agencies.[10]

  • Eligibility: at least a high-school diploma or equivalent for undergraduate programmes, a bachelor’s degree for a master’s and a master’s degree for a PhD.[10]
  • Account and departments: create an account, fill in your personal data and choose up to five departments or graduate institutes. If you receive several offers, you can enrol in only one.[7]
  • Documents: graduation certificate, transcripts, proof of nationality and language proof for the eligibility check, then department-specific items such as recommendation letters.[7]
  • Intakes: September entry (in two application rounds) and February entry for graduate programmes only.[7]

We give no deadlines because they change every year; check the timeline on the official page before you start.

Which language level do you need?

The minimum depends on the language of the programme.[5]

  • Chinese-taught programmes: CEFR A2 (Waystage) or above, for example TOCFL Band A Level 2 or HSK Level 4.
  • English-taught programmes: CEFR B2 (Vantage) or above, for example TOEFL iBT 72, IELTS Academic 5.5, TOEIC (Public Testing Programme) 785 or GEPT High-Intermediate.

Departments can ask for more, and a department may reject you, admit you or offer a conditional admission if you meet the university minimum but not its own.[5] A conditional offer is valid for at most one year, during which you must supply the certificate (English) or first study Chinese at NTU’s Chinese Language Division and reach the set level (Chinese).[5]

You do not need a certificate if your previous degree was taught in the language of the programme, or if you majored in Chinese (for Chinese-taught programmes). For English-taught programmes, you are also exempt if your previous degree is from an English-speaking country or you are from one; NTU publishes the country list.[5] Check the programme page for the language of instruction and the department’s own requirement.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does National Taiwan University cost for international students?

Undergraduate tuition for international students ranges from NT$50,460 to NT$62,100 per semester depending on the college. Graduate full tuition in the main college groups ranges from NT$51,280 to NT$62,360 per semester.[4] NTU’s fee page does not name an academic year and is a reference only.[4]

What is National Taiwan University’s QS ranking?

NTU is 54th in the QS World University Rankings 2027, the only Taiwanese university in the top 100.[2]

Do I need to speak Chinese to study at National Taiwan University?

Not for English-taught programmes, which require CEFR B2 English, for example TOEFL iBT 72 or IELTS Academic 5.5. Chinese-taught programmes require CEFR A2 Chinese (TOCFL Band A Level 2 or HSK Level 4).[5] NTU lists more than 1,900 English-taught classes and English-taught programmes at all levels.[8]

How many departments can I apply to at National Taiwan University?

Up to five departments or graduate institutes per application. If you receive more than one offer, you can enrol in only one.[7]

Do exchange students pay tuition at National Taiwan University?

No. Exchange students are exempt from NTU tuition under reciprocity but pay a campus computing and internet fee of about NT$400 to NT$600.[9]

More about studying in Taiwan

More university profiles in Taiwan

Sources

[1] National Taiwan University: About NTU (page without a date; annual-publications block updated 22 Jun 2026)

[2] Taiwan News: Taiwan sets record in QS World University Rankings 2027 (published 18 Jun 2026; QS edition released 18 Jun 2026 (topuniversities.com blocks automated access))

[3] TechNews (Chinese): QS 2027 ranking, four Taiwanese universities in the top 200 (published 18 Jun 2026; Chinese-language article)

[4] NTU Office of International Affairs: Tuition Fees (page last modified 3 Jul 2026 (site data); no academic year stated, for reference only)

[5] NTU Office of International Affairs: Language Proficiency Requirements (page last modified 21 Aug 2026 (site data))

[6] Wikipedia: National Taiwan University (history and campuses; secondary source)

[7] NTU Office of International Affairs: International Students (degree admission) (page last modified 4 Nov 2026 (site data))

[8] NTU Office of International Affairs: English-Taught Programs (page last modified 18 Aug 2026 (site data))

[9] NTU International Students and Scholars Service: Tuition & Fees (page without a date; footer © 2025)

[10] NTU Office of International Affairs: Academic Requirements (page last modified 15 Oct 2025 (site data))

Figures may change; check official sources before you decide. How we compile our data · Found an error? Tell us.